Spain · Payments & e-money
Bnext Electronic Issuer, Ede, S.L.
Legal name in the LEI recordBNEXT ELECTRONIC ISSUER E.D.E. SOCIEDAD LIMITADA
Bnext Electronic Issuer, E.D.E., S.L. is a Spanish limited company based in Madrid. The Banco de España authorises it as an electronic money institution under register number 6717. It belongs to the Bnext group, whose other named company is Marcandita, S.L. It closed its own consumer account and card on 13 April 2026 and now issues cards and payment accounts for other organisations' programmes. These include Correos Prepago, which the Spanish postal operator Correos distributes, and public-aid cards issued under contract with Correos.
Licences and registrations
Held by Bnext Electronic Issuer E.D.E. Sociedad Limitada (LEI 9598001D687E0EM25586). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of SpainLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 6717 | Spain | Active | 2020-01-23 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
European registers
ECB · monetary financial institutions
List as at 2026-09-25
- Category
- Other monetary financial institution
- Minimum reserves
- Not on the ECB reserve list
- Listed as
- Bnext Electronic Issuer, E.D.E. S.L.
- RIAD code
- ES6717
Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- BNXTESM2XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of BNXTESM2 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SDD Core · VOP
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2022-07-02
- Last updated
- 2022-07-02
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
Banking as a service
Trades as Bnext
- Standing
- Bnext closed its own consumer account and card programme on 13 April 2026. Customers could use them until 12 April 2026. The firm keeps its Banco de España e-money licence. It now issues cards and payment products for business and public-sector programmes.
- Ownership
- The firm says the Bnext group consists of Marcandita, S.L. and Bnext Electronic Issuer, E.D.E., S.L., but it does not publish its shareholding structure.
- Head office
- Calle López de Hoyos, 135, 1ºC, 28002 Madrid, Spain
- Company register
- Registro Mercantil de Madrid, Hoja M-707.986 (NIF B88463534)
- Founders
- Guillermo Vicandi · Juan Antonio Rullán de la Mata
Online
- Websites & references
- bnext.es ↗
ayudatarjetabnext.bnext.es ↗ customer help centre
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- boe.es/diario_boe/txt.php?id=BOE-A-2023-19352
- prepago.correos.es/content/dam/prepago/documentos/terminos-y-condiciones-tarjetas/TyC-Bnext.pdf
- bnext.es/b2b/es/conocenos
- bnext.es/b2b/es/nuestros-programas
- bnext.es/es/atencion-al-cliente
- bnext.es/es/cuenta/condiciones
- bnext.es/es/transparencia
- bnext.es/uploads/reglamento_3802.pdf
- businesswire.com/news/home/20240423392141/en/Ouro-Partners-with-Bnext-as-Strategic-Issuer-for-European-Exp
- eleconomista.es/banca-finanzas/noticias/13768554/02/26/bnext-dejara-de-ser-neobanco-y-pivotara-hacia-serv
- eleconomista.es/banca-finanzas/noticias/12648701/01/24/la-fintech-bnext-negocia-su-venta-a-la-estadounide
- dineromasseguro.com/buenas-ideas/bnext
- democrata.es/economia/bnext-dejara-de-operar-como-neobanco-el-13-de-abril-y-se-centrara-en-infraestruc
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bnext
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Banco de España authorises the firm as an electronic money institution (entidad de dinero electrónico) under register number 6717. It issues e-money and cards in its own name. Distributors such as Correos market some programmes.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banco de España Spain | Entidad de dinero electrónico | 6717 | In its own name | Active | bnext.es ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that all customer balances are held in a safeguarding account in its name at Banco Inversis, S.A. It says these funds are kept separate from its own funds.
- Safeguarding bank
- Banco Inversis, S.A. Spain
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Mastercard Direct businesswire.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated prepago.correos.es ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated prepago.correos.es ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm issues prepaid cards and e-money accounts for partner-branded and public-aid programmes, including Correos Prepago, the Bono Cultural Joven and Íkualo.
It serves customers mainly in Spain. According to an April 2024 press release, its Banco de España licence is passported to the 27 EU member states and Norway.
- Sells to
- Enterprises · Public sector · Platforms and marketplaces · Consumers
- Serves customers in
- Spain
- Total raised
- EUR 35m · bnext.es ↗
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Guillermo Vicandi Nebreda Consejero delegado (CEO) and co-founder
Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Bnext closed its consumer Bnext account and card programme on 13 April 2026 and moved to business payment infrastructure.
dineromasseguro.com ↗ -
Other
Bnext announced it would stop serving consumers from 13 April 2026 and move unclaimed balances to a dormant-balances account.
democrata.es ↗ -
Other
Ouro named Bnext its strategic card issuer in Europe, following their joint Correos Prepaid Mastercard programme.
businesswire.com ↗ -
Merger / acquisition
elEconomista reported that Bnext was negotiating its sale to Rêv Worldwide, pending Banco de España approval.
eleconomista.es ↗ -
Enforcement
The Banco de España fined the firm EUR 120,000 for not reporting acquisitions and reductions of indirect qualifying holdings in time.
boe.es ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- BNXTESM2XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- BNXTBank
- ESCountry · Spain
- M2Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 9598001D687E0EM25586
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 6717
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 182449f0c5cc
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Spain
- Country · region
- Spain · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- CALLE ZURBANO 71 FLOOR LC MADRID 28010 SPAIN
- Operational address
- CALLE ZURBANO 71 FLOOR LC MADRID 28010 MADRID SPAIN
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BNXTESM2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>9598001D687E0EM25586</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BNXTESM2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>9598001D687E0EM25586</LEI>
<Nm>BNEXT ELECTRONIC ISSUER, EDE, S.L.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>MADRID</TwnNm>
<Ctry>ES</Ctry>
<AdrLine>CALLE ZURBANO 71 FLOOR LC MADRID 28010</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2023-12-12 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages | 2023-12-12 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-10-05 | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Claim this profile
Work at Bnext Electronic Issuer, Ede, S.L.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo