Czechia · Payments & e-money

COFIDIS a.s.

COFIDIS a.s. is a Czech joint-stock company based in Prague. The Czech National Bank (ČNB) authorises it as a payment institution, and the firm describes itself as a non-bank consumer credit provider licensed by the ČNB. It belongs to the Cofidis group, and its controlling parent is the French company COFIDIS, part of the Crédit Mutuel group. It offers online consumer loans, loan consolidation, revolving credit with a Mastercard-branded Cofidis card and instalment finance through retailers to consumers in Czechia.

Licences and registrations

Held by COFIDIS a.s. (LEI 315700ZOGL1CABI3BW24). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCzech National Bank Payment institutionPayment Institution 27179907 Czechia Active 2011-04-29 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

167

headcount · This entity · 6 Aug 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

COFIDIS

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Cofidis

Standing
The firm formerly traded as COFIDIS s.r.o. It is now registered as the joint-stock company COFIDIS a.s.
Ownership
The French company COFIDIS (Villeneuve d'Ascq, registration number 325 307 106 RCS Lille) is the controlling parent of the firm, and GLEIF reports Confédération Nationale du Crédit Mutuel as its ultimate parent.
Direct parent
COFIDIS, France
Ultimate owner
CONFEDERATION NATIONALE CREDIT MUTUEL, France
Head office
Bucharova 1423/6, 158 00 Praha 5, Czechia
Company register
Commercial Register, Municipal Court in Prague, section B, file 27780; IČO 27179907
Former name
COFIDIS s.r.o.

Online

Websites & references
cofidis.cz ↗
services.cofidis.cz ↗ client zone (online account login)
Wikipedia ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 8 pages consulted
  1. cofidis.cz/cz/kontakty.html
  2. cofidis.cz/cz/o-nas/o-spolecnosti.html
  3. cofidis.cz/cz/mobilni-aplikace-cofidis.html
  4. cofidis.cz/cz/tipy-a-rady/prava-spotrebitele.html
  5. cdnwmii.e-i.com/SITW/wm/global/1.0.0/WEBA/COFIDIS/CofidisCZ/assets/articles/dokumenty-ke-stazeni/vzor-sml
  6. cdnwmsi.e-i.com/SITW/wm/global/1.0.0/WEBA/COFIDIS/CofidisCZ/assets/articles/dokumenty-ke-stazeni/1.0/vzor
  7. cofidis-group.com/en/our-subsidiaries/cofidis-czech-republic/
  8. cs.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cofidis

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ČNB authorises the firm as a payment institution, and the firm states that it holds a ČNB licence as a non-bank consumer credit provider. It is also entered in the ČNB register of insurance intermediaries for credit insurance.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Czech National Bank (ČNB) Czechia Payment institution (register of payment service providers; ČNB file Sp/2011/137/571) 27179907 In its own name Active cdnwmii.e-i.com ↗
Czech National Bank (ČNB) Czechia Non-bank consumer credit provider — In its own name Active cofidis.cz ↗
Czech National Bank (ČNB) Czechia Register of insurance intermediaries (credit insurance) 036988PA In its own name Active cofidis.cz ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm publishes no safeguarding statement. Its card and payment services draw on credit that it extends to customers.
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Access not stated cdnwmii.e-i.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Lending
  • Buy now, pay later
  • Domestic payments

It offers distance consumer credit in Czechia, mainly online: fixed-term loans, flexible and revolving credit with a Cofidis Mastercard card, loan consolidation, instalment finance at e-shops, shops and car dealers, and optional loan insurance as an insurance intermediary.

It serves consumers in Czechia; Cofidis group companies in other European countries run separate national subsidiaries.

Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in
Czechia

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Arnaud Le Gall Chief Executive Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · cofidis-group.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
27179907
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
ded873381df2

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Czechia · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2011-04-29

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Cofidis · France969500EJMFFRSWFDJG41 ↗
Ultimate parent
Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel · France9695000CG7B84NLR5984 ↗

The Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel group has 41 institutions in the directory, in 13 countries: 38 hold a BIC and 3 do not.

Including Credit Mutuel Arkea, Banque Federative du Credit Mutuel, Banque Federative du Credit Mutuel, Credit Industriel et Commercial, Credit Industriel et Commercial, New York Branch.

See the Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Bucharova 1423/6, Praha, 15800
Country
Czechia

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>315700ZOGL1CABI3BW24</LEI>
  <Nm>COFIDIS a.s.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>15800</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Praha</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>CZ</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Bucharova 1423/6</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo