United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Emerchantpay LTD

emerchantpay Ltd is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its registered office in North Shields. The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, reference 900778. Emerchantpay Group Limited holds 75% or more of its shares, and its accounts name Jonas Reynisson as ultimate controlling party. Under the emerchantpay brand it provides card acquiring, payment gateway and payment processing services to online and in-store merchants, and it also runs the eZeeWallet e-wallet.

BICEMECGB22XXX LEI213800W8JREIOHLEOD79 Licence no.900778 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of EMECGB22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Emerchantpay Limited (LEI 213800W8JREIOHLEOD79). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900778 United Kingdom Active 2018-05-25 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution 532489 United Kingdom Cancelled - Authorised PI — Ended 2017-06-12
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: eZeeWallet (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD), E-Comprocessing (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD)

  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
EMECGB22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of EMECGB22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2024-04-10
Last updated
2024-04-10

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Emerchantpay Group Limited

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as emerchantpay

Ownership
Emerchantpay Group Limited (company 11266486) holds 75% or more of the shares, and the FY2025 accounts name emerchantpay Group Consolidated Holdings Limited as ultimate parent and Jonas Reynisson as ultimate controlling party.
Direct parent
Emerchantpay Group Limited, United Kingdom
Ultimate owner
emerchantpay Group Consolidated Holdings Limited, United Kingdom
Head office
29 Howard Street, NE30 1AR North Shields, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 05153270
Incorporated
14 Jun 2004
Founder
Jonas Reynisson
Former name
INTERCONSULT EUROPE LIMITED

Online

Websites & references
emerchantpay.com ↗
docs.emerchantpay.com ↗ developer documentation
resources.emerchantpay.com ↗ marketing resources site
Official social accounts
Facebook ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05153270
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05153270/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05153270/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05153270/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05153270/filing-history/MzUxNzcwNTI5OWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. cdn.emerchantpay.com/uploads/EMP_AGR_Terms_TT_DR03_20250602.pdf
  7. emerchantpay.com/
  8. emerchantpay.com/amp/insights/emerchantpay-wins-two-categories-at-the-fintech-awards-2026/
  9. fintechmagazine.com/news/how-is-visa-advancing-flexible-payments-with-emerchantpay

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with permission to issue e-money and provide payment services. Its accounts say it also provides outsourced acquiring services to the merchants of a third-party EU acquirer.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 900778 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Payment Institution (cancelled 12 June 2017) 532489 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm states that it safeguards merchants' transaction proceeds as regulations require. It does not state the method or name a safeguarding bank.cdn.emerchantpay.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated
Mastercard Access not stated

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • E-money wallet
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • FX conversion

It offers card acquiring, a payment gateway, alternative payment methods, point-of-sale terminals and the eZeeWallet e-wallet to merchants. Its accounts say IBAN accounts and card issuing were under development for launch in 2026.

According to its FY2025 accounts, its card acquiring focuses on merchants in the UK and Europe, and it is expanding into Latin America and Asia through subsidiaries.

Revenue
USD 183.9mGroup · 31 Aug 2025 · annual report ↗
Payment volume
USD 11.3bnTotal processing volume (PSP, acquiring and e-money activity)Group · 31 Aug 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Jonas Reynisson Director (founder and chief executive according to trade press) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Stephen Ross Dickson Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Alan Richard Goslar Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Alex Robinson Company Secretary Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Jon Horddal Chief Product Officer Confirmed 17 Apr 2026 · emerchantpay.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The firm added Visa Instalments to its platform, letting UK merchants offer instalment payments at checkout.

    fintechmagazine.com ↗
  2. Merger / acquisition

    The group's FY2025 accounts disclosed an agreement to buy the remaining 97.5% of UAB Phoenix Payments for EUR 17,402,171.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Other

    Emerchantpay Group Limited was notified to Companies House as holding 75% or more of the firm's shares from 21 May 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
EMECGB22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. EMECBank
  2. GBCountry · United Kingdom
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
213800W8JREIOHLEOD79
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900778
Licence no. · FCA-PSD
532489
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
Register-entry ID
1d7116d343d2

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
2 entries on 2 registers
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom
Country · region
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
29 HOWARD STREET NORTH SHIELDS NE301AR UNITED KINGDOM
Operational address
29 HOWARD STREET NORTH SHIELDS NORTH SHIELDS NE301AR UNITED KINGDOM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>EMECGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800W8JREIOHLEOD79</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>EMECGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800W8JREIOHLEOD79</LEI>
  <Nm>EMERCHANTPAY LTD</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>NORTH SHIELDS</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>29 HOWARD STREET NORTH SHIELDS NE301AR</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Emerchantpay LTD?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: emerchantpay.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo