Belgium · Payments & e-money

Epbf

EPBF is a Belgian société anonyme with its office in Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels. The National Bank of Belgium authorises it as a payment institution. BRED Banque Populaire created the firm in 2011 and owns 100% of it. BRED belongs to Groupe BPCE. EPBF processes SEPA Credit Transfers and SEPA Direct Debits for corporate and institutional clients, and offers cash management, cash pooling, bank connectivity and e-signature services.

BICEPBFBEBBXXX LEI6994001OJHXTSUW2X478 Licence no.0837808497 Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under EPBFBEBB directly. In a G-SIB group · Groupe BPCE Head-office BIC only Group: Bpce Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Epbf (LEI 6994001OJHXTSUW2X478). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterNational Bank of BelgiumLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 0837808497 Belgium Active 2011-06-27 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Regulatory status

FSB · global systemically important banks

2025 list

G-SIB
Groupe BPCE
Relation
In a G-SIB groupGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.
Bucket
1 of 5 · extra capital buffer 1.0% of risk-weighted assets
On the list since
2018

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
EPBFBEBBXXX head office
Connection to Swift
Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under EPBFBEBB directly.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2011-09-10
Last updated
2022-02-14

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% BRED Banque Populaire

Firm type

Payment infrastructure

Ownership
BRED Banque Populaire, a member of Groupe BPCE, owns 100% of the firm.
Direct parent
BRED Banque Populaire, France 100%
Ultimate owner
BPCE, France
Head office
Chaussée de la Hulpe 181 B11, 1170 Watermael-Boitsfort, Belgium
Company register
Crossroads Bank for Enterprises (KBO/BCE) 0837.808.497
Incorporated
2011

Online

Websites & references
epbf.be ↗
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 7 pages consulted
  1. epbf.be/
  2. epbf.be/about-epbf
  3. epbf.be/sepa
  4. epbf.be/fr/propos-depbf
  5. epbf.be/ebpf-now-available-also-isabel
  6. bredbanquedu21emesiecle.com/2017/03/30/la-bred-etend-ses-activites-de-paiement-en-belgique/
  7. njr.be/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The National Bank of Belgium authorises the firm as a payment institution. The EBA PSD2 register lists it under number 0837808497 since 27 June 2011, for payment services and card acquiring.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
National Bank of Belgium Belgium Payment institution 0837808497 In its own name Active epbf.be ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated epbf.be ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated epbf.be ↗
Swift Direct

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Domestic payments

According to the firm, it processes SEPA Credit Transfers and SEPA Direct Debits for corporate and institutional clients in sectors such as energy, telecoms and retail. It also offers reporting, cash pooling, bank connectivity (Isabel, Swift and EBICS) and e-signature.

The firm operates from Brussels and describes its clients as European corporate and institutional clients. It says its main market is SEPA Direct Debit processing in Belgium.

Payment volume
EUR 17bnSEPA transactions processed (137 million transactions)This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Enterprises · Financial institutions
Serves customers in
Belgium

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
EPBFBEBBXXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. EPBFBank
  2. BECountry · Belgium
  3. BBLocation
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
6994001OJHXTSUW2X478
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
0837808497
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
68464c4fa150
National bank code
Bank identification code 913

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Belgium
Country · region
Belgium · Europe & Central Asia
FSB G-SIB list
In a G-SIB group · Groupe BPCE list of 2025
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Ultimate parent
Bpce · France9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46 ↗
FSB G-SIB list
In a G-SIB group · Groupe BPCE bucket 1 · 2025 listGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.

The Bpce group has 100 institutions in the directory, in 28 countries: 98 hold a BIC and 2 do not.

Including Natixis SA, Bred Banque Populaire, Bpce SA, Credit Foncier de France, Natixis Corporate and Investment Banking Luxembourg.

See the Bpce group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
CHAUSSEE DE LA HULPE 181 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT 1170 BELGIUM
Operational address
CHAUSSEE DE LA HULPE 181 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT 1170 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT BELGIUM

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>EPBFBEBBXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6994001OJHXTSUW2X478</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>EPBFBEBBXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6994001OJHXTSUW2X478</LEI>
  <Nm>EPBF</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>WATERMAEL BOITSFORT</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>BE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>CHAUSSEE DE LA HULPE 181 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT 1170</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2011-11-07 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2018-10-08 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages 2011-11-07 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages 2026-03-16 Head office —
Verification of Payee 2025-08-22 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

National bank codes

Bank identification code · Belgium

1 code file of 2026-09-01

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national file
913 EPBFBEBB EPBF

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Epbf?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • National bank codes—Belgium (Source: National Bank of Belgium).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo