Canada · Money service business
Fiserv Canada LTD.
Trading asFISERV
Fiserv Canada Ltd. is a company registered in British Columbia. Its head office is in Mississauga, Ontario. FINTRAC registers it as a money services business. According to one of its agents, the Bank of Canada has listed it as a payment service provider since January 2026. It belongs to the group of Fiserv, Inc. of the United States. It provides card acceptance, point-of-sale, e-commerce and Clover payment processing to Canadian merchants. It traded as First Data Canada Ltd. until August 2024.
Licences and registrations
Held by Fiserv Canada LTD. (LEI 254900QPGF3MXJ0V3E95). 2 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Money Services Business RegistryFINTRAC | MSBMoney Transmitter / Remittance | N300000637 | Canada | Active | 2026-06-02 | Renews 2028-06-03 |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| Money Services Business RegistryFINTRAC | MSBPayment Institution | M23460288 | Canada | Ceased | 2023-02-09 | Ended 2026-04-29 |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: FISERV (FINTRAC-MSB)
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as Fiserv (merchant services); Clover
- Standing
- The firm changed its name from First Data Canada Ltd. to Fiserv Canada Ltd. with effect from 1 August 2024. Its FINTRAC registration as a payment institution (M23460288) ceased on 29 April 2026. A new registration as a money transmitter (N300000637) has been active since 2 June 2026.
- Ownership
- According to its LEI record, Fiserv, Inc. (Nasdaq: FISV) is the ultimate parent that consolidates the firm. The direct parent is not disclosed.
- Ultimate owner
- Fiserv, Inc., United States
- Head office
- 2630 Skymark Avenue, Suite 400, L4W 5A4 Mississauga, Canada (registered office: 1133 Melvill Street, Suite 3500, The Stack, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4E5, Canada)
- Company register
- BC Registry BC1393818
- Incorporated
- 1 Jan 2023
- Former name
- FIRST DATA CANADA LTD.
Online
- Websites & references
- merchants.fiserv.com ↗
fiserv.com ↗ Fiserv group website, as filed with FINTRAC
clover.com ↗ Clover Canada product site, linked from the Canadian merchant site
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
- merchants.fiserv.com/content/dam/firstdata/ca/en/pdf/CA-Merchant-Terms.pdf
- merchants.fiserv.com/en-ca/
- fiserv.com
- lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/254900QPGF3MXJ0V3E95
- bankofcanada.ca/regulatory-oversight/retail-payments/psp-registry/psp-registry-details/?account_id=96b877
- directpaysolutions.ca/en/compliance/
- globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/09/22/3366327/0/en/fiserv-expands-clover-footprint-in-canadian-sports-a
- stories.td.com/ca/en/news/2026-07-13-td-offers-clover-platform-in-canada-2c-delivering-all-e2-80-91in-e2
- merchants.fiserv.com/en-ca/code-of-conduct/
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Several models
FINTRAC registers the firm as a money services business in the money transmitter class. Its merchant terms state that an unnamed bank sponsors the firm with Visa and Mastercard and settles certain card transactions.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada | Money services business registration, Money Transmitter / Remittance (money remittance, payment services) | N300000637 | In its own name | Active | — |
| Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada | Money services business registration, Payment Institution (payment services) | M23460288 | In its own name | Withdrawn or expired | — |
| Bank of Canada Canada | Registered payment service provider under the Retail Payment Activities Act | — | In its own name | Active | bankofcanada.ca ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedIts merchant terms state that it holds merchants' settlement funds until payout. These funds are not deposits, bear no interest and are not insured by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Interac Debit Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
American Express (OptBlue) Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Discover Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
UnionPay International Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It offers Canadian merchants card acceptance for Visa, Mastercard, Interac, American Express, Discover and UnionPay, along with point-of-sale terminals, Clover systems and e-commerce payments.
It serves merchants in Canada only, and its merchant terms cover card transactions at merchant locations in Canada.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises
- Serves customers in
- Canada
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- Brian Green Country Head, Fiserv Canada; General Manager, Clover Canada
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
TD Bank Group announced that TD Merchant Solutions would offer the Clover platform in Canada through its relationship with Fiserv.
stories.td.com ↗ -
Licence
According to one of its agents, the Bank of Canada entered the firm in its registry of payment service providers on 27 January 2026.
directpaysolutions.ca ↗ -
Other
The firm changed its legal name from First Data Canada Ltd. to Fiserv Canada Ltd.
lei.bloomberg.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
- N300000637
- Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
- M23460288
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- 140647fef8d9
Profile
- Type
- Money service businessRemittance, currency exchange, cheque cashing and money orders. Usually registered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor rather than licensed prudentially. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- AML registration onlyRegistered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor (FinCEN, FINTRAC, HMRC, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong Customs…) without a prudential licence.
- Main licence class
- Money Transmitter / Remittance
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Licensed in
- Canada · North America
- First registered
- 2023-02-09
- Website
- www.fiserv.com ↗
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Ultimate parent
- Fiserv, Inc. · United StatesGI7UBEJLXYLGR2C7GV83 ↗
The Fiserv, Inc. group has 5 institutions in the directory, in 5 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 4 do not.
Including CCV Group B.V., First Data Europe Limited, First Data GmbH, Fiserv Polska Spółka Akcyjna (d. First Data Polska S.A.).
See the Fiserv, Inc. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- 500 - 2630 SKYMARK AVENUE, MISSISSAUGA, L4W 5A4
- Country
- Canada
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>254900QPGF3MXJ0V3E95</LEI>
<Nm>FISERV CANADA LTD.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>L4W 5A4</PstCd>
<TwnNm>MISSISSAUGA</TwnNm>
<Ctry>CA</Ctry>
<AdrLine>500 - 2630 SKYMARK AVENUE</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo