- Directory
- United Kingdom
- First Data Europe Limited
United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
First Data Europe Limited
First Data Europe Limited (FDEL) is a private limited company incorporated in England. Its registered office is in Basildon, Essex. The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) authorises it as a payment institution under reference 582703. According to GLEIF, its direct parent is FDR U.K. Limited and its ultimate parent is Fiserv, Inc. of the United States. FDEL provides the Fiserv group's merchant acquiring service in the UK. It trades as Clover and First Data and serves businesses that accept card payments.
Licences and registrations
Held by First Data Europe Limited (LEI 5493000I5QHQ1ZVYXY18). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 582703 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-05-21 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: Fiserv (FCA-PSD), First Data (FCA-PSD), Clover (FCA-PSD), Carat from Fiserv (FCA-PSD)
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- FRDEGB22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of FRDEGB22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2024-09-07
- Last updated
- 2024-09-07
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
FDR U.K. Limited
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as Clover
- Ownership
- Fiserv, Inc. owns the firm through FDR U.K. Limited, according to the firm's GLEIF record.
- Direct parent
- FDR U.K. Limited ↗, United Kingdom
- Ultimate owner
- Fiserv, Inc., United States
- Head office
- Janus House, Endeavour Drive, SS14 3WF Basildon, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House 02012925
- Incorporated
- 22 Apr 1986
- Former names
- FIRST DATA RESOURCES LIMITED · SIGNET MAILING LIMITED · ACCESS MAILING LIMITED
Online
- Websites & references
- uk.clover.com ↗ could not be checked
merchants.fiserv.com ↗ Fiserv UK merchant site, listed as the firm's website on the FCA register - Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 8 pages consulted
- register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=001b000000NMgDUAA1
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/02012925
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/02012925/officers
- uk.clover.com/content/dam/firstdata/clover-uk/en/assets/pdf-legal/terms-and-conditions/MERCHANT%20ACQUI
- uk.clover.com/legal/termsandconditions/
- uk.clover.com/content/dam/firstdata/clover-uk/en/pdf/sales-sheets/Connect_Integration_Sales_Sheet.pdf
- merchants.fiserv.com/content/dam/firstdata/uk/en/pdf/fees/fee-schedule-update.pdf
- fiserv.dev/legal
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under reference 582703, recorded on the register since 21 May 2018. Its merchant acquiring terms state that this authorisation covers the payment services it provides.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 582703 | In its own name | Active | register.fca.org.uk ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Diners Club Access not stated merchants.fiserv.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm provides card acquiring, an e-commerce payment gateway and Dynamic Currency Conversion to UK merchants under the Clover and First Data names.
The firm provides merchant acquiring in the UK under its FCA authorisation.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises
- Serves customers in
- United Kingdom
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- Jonathan Boland Director
- Executive
- Lara Byrne Director
- Executive
- Irene Enjema Molulu Director
- Executive
- David Henry Klein Director
- Executive
- Kyle Brown Company Secretary
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
The firm appointed Lara Byrne as a director on 16 March 2026, according to Companies House.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
Director Atul Jivanbhai Patel resigned from the board on 31 December 2024, according to Companies House.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- FRDEGB22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- FRDEBank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 5493000I5QHQ1ZVYXY18
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 582703
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- Register-entry ID
- c3e5c7706b16
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom
- Website (register)
- merchants.fiserv.com/en-uk ↗
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Fdr U.K. Limited · United Kingdom254900HRW16TE2GT1X09 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Fiserv, Inc. · United StatesGI7UBEJLXYLGR2C7GV83 ↗
The Fiserv, Inc. group has 5 institutions in the directory, in 5 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 4 do not.
Including CCV Group B.V., First Data GmbH, Fiserv Polska Spółka Akcyjna (d. First Data Polska S.A.), Fiserv Canada LTD..
See the Fiserv, Inc. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- JANUS HOUSE ENDEAVOUR DRIVE BASILDON SS14 3WF UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- JANUS HOUSE ENDEAVOUR DRIVE BASILDON BASILDON SS14 3WF UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>FRDEGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>5493000I5QHQ1ZVYXY18</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>FRDEGB22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>5493000I5QHQ1ZVYXY18</LEI>
<Nm>FIRST DATA EUROPE LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>BASILDON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>JANUS HOUSE ENDEAVOUR DRIVE BASILDON SS14 3WF</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at First Data Europe Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: uk.clover.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo