Poland · Payments & e-money

mElements Spółka Akcyjna

mElements S.A. is a joint-stock company based in Warsaw. The Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF) authorises it as a national payment institution (krajowa instytucja płatnicza) under register number IP47/2019. It belongs to the mBank Group, with mBank S.A. as its direct parent and Commerzbank AG as its ultimate parent. It runs the Paynow payment gateway for online merchants that hold a business account at mBank, and mBank is registered with the KNF as its agent. The KNF granted its licence in October 2019 and extended it to payment initiation and account information services in October 2020.

Licences and registrations

Held by mElements Spółka Akcyjna (LEI 52990054L5L1FTCJ1G70). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPolish Financial Supervision Authority Payment institutionPayment Institution 5223047892 Poland Active 2019-10-25 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

mBank Spółka Akcyjna

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Paynow

Ownership
mBank S.A. owns the firm, and Commerzbank AG is the ultimate parent according to the GLEIF record.
Direct parent
mBank Spółka Akcyjna, Poland
Ultimate owner
COMMERZBANK Aktiengesellschaft, Germany
Head office
ul. Prosta 18, 00-850 Warszawa, Poland
Company register
KRS 0000590484

Online

Websites & references
melements.pl ↗
paynow.pl ↗ Paynow payment gateway product site
faq.paynow.pl ↗ Paynow help and integration documentation
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. static.paynow.pl/docs/regulamin_integratora_platnosci_paynow_melements_sa_od_29032024.pdf
  2. static.paynow.pl/docs/regulamin-uslugi-integratora-platnosci-paynow-korporacje-24072024.pdf
  3. static.paynow.pl/docs/polityka_prywatnosci_w_melements_16072024.pdf
  4. static.paynow.pl/docs/regulamin_kuponow_mokazje.pdf
  5. melements.pl/
  6. melements.pl/akcjonariusze
  7. paynow.pl/
  8. mbank.pl/firmy/system-platnosci-online-paynow/
  9. mbank.pl/komunikaty/klienci-msp-i-korporacje/10398-zmieniamy-regulamin-integratora-platnosci-payno
  10. money.pl/gielda/knf-zezwolila-spolkom-zrzutka-i-melements-na-swiadczenie-uslug-platniczych-6435088
  11. cashless.pl/8751-knf-licencja-melements
  12. bank.pl/smartterminal-upraszcza-prowadzenie-mikrofirm-klientom-mbanku/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The KNF authorises the firm as a national payment institution under register number IP47/2019. mBank S.A. is entered in the KNF register as the firm's agent and distributes Paynow to its business clients.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF) Poland Krajowa instytucja płatnicza (national payment institution) IP47/2019 In its own name Active static.paynow.pl ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's published merchant terms do not say how it safeguards the funds it receives for merchants.
Acquirer / processor
Worldline Financial Services (Europe) S.A. Luxembourg static.paynow.pl ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Through a partner static.paynow.pl ↗
Mastercard Through a partner static.paynow.pl ↗
BLIK Access not stated static.paynow.pl ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Payment gateway
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment initiation (open banking)
  • Account information (open banking)

Its Paynow gateway lets online shops accept BLIK, pay-by-link transfers, cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and deferred payments supplied by PayPo. Merchants must hold a business account at mBank. On its website the firm says more than 10,000 merchants use its services.

It serves online merchants in Poland that hold a business account at mBank, and payouts are settled in PLN.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in
Poland

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Jarosław Stefański Prezes Zarządu (President of the Management Board) Confirmed 1 Mar 2026 · bank.pl ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    mBank started a pilot of smartTerminal, a phone-based card acceptance service it developed with the firm, Worldline and Visa.

    bank.pl ↗
  2. Other

    The firm added PayPo deferred payments to the Paynow gateway through an amendment to its terms effective 24 July 2024.

    mbank.pl ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
5223047892
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
4f9d4ec49fc3

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Licensed in
Poland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-10-25

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

The Commerzbank Aktiengesellschaft group has 25 institutions in the directory, in 18 countries: 24 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Commerzbank AG, Commerzbank AG, Commerzbank A.G Benelux Branch, Commerzbank AG, Commerzbank AG.

See the Commerzbank Aktiengesellschaft group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Prosta 18, Warszawa, 00-850, PL, Warszawa, 00-850
Country
Poland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>52990054L5L1FTCJ1G70</LEI>
  <Nm>mElements Spółka Akcyjna</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>00-850</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Warszawa</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Prosta 18, Warszawa, 00-850, PL</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.
  • CBPR+ does not accept the characters ó ł in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo