Cyprus · Payments & e-money

Nuvei Limited

Nuvei Limited is a private limited company registered in Cyprus under number HE 129880, with its office in Nicosia. The Central Bank of Cyprus authorises it as an electronic money institution under licence 115.1.3.9, which it has held since July 2018. It was formerly named SafeCharge Limited. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Nuvei Corporation of Montreal, which a group led by Advent International took private in November 2024. It provides card acquiring, payment and e-money services to merchants.

BICNUVECY22XXX LEI98450092FC6781F74S30 Licence no.115.1.3.9 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of NUVECY22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Group: Nuvei Corporation Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Nuvei Limited (LEI 98450092FC6781F74S30). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of CyprusLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 115.1.3.9 Cyprus Active 2018-07-19 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
NUVECY22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of NUVECY22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2022-10-01
Last updated
2022-10-01

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

2,202

headcount · Group · 31 Dec 2023 · regulatory filing ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Nuvei Corporation

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Nuvei

Standing
The firm was formerly named SafeCharge Limited. The EBA register shows its electronic money institution authorisation from the Central Bank of Cyprus as active.
Ownership
Nuvei Corporation owns 100% of the firm directly. Since November 2024 Nuvei Corporation has been wholly owned by Neon Maple Purchaser Inc. That company is held about 46% by Advent International, 24% by Philip Fayer, 18% by Novacap and 12% by CDPQ.
Direct parent
Nuvei Corporation ↗, Canada 100%
Head office
9 Kafkasou Street, Treppides Tower, Floor 3, Office 301, Aglantzia, 2112 Nicosia, Cyprus
Company register
Cyprus Registrar of Companies HE 129880
Former name
SafeCharge Limited

Online

Websites & references
nuvei.com ↗
docs.nuvei.com ↗ developer documentation (group)
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/nuvei-limited
  2. ftc.gov/legal-library/browse/cases-proceedings/nuvei
  3. ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2026/09/payment-processor-nuvei-must-implement-robust-mer
  4. sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1765159/000176515924000007/nuvei-aifx2023xfvcleanv2.htm
  5. nuvei.com/
  6. nuvei.com/posts/nuvei-appoints-new-coo-cfo-cpto
  7. nuvei.com/posts/nuvei-announces-completion-of-going-private-transaction
  8. nuvei.com/posts/nuvei-to-acquire-payoneer-for-2-75-billion-creating-a-leading-global-platform-for-l
  9. nasdaq.com/articles/nuvei-announces-completion-going-private-transaction
  10. nuvei.com/legal/licences-and-certifications

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Cyprus authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under licence 115.1.3.9. The firm provides services in other EEA states under this authorisation through passporting.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Cyprus Cyprus Electronic money institution 115.1.3.9 In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe group states that its EEA-licensed subsidiaries must safeguard customer funds. The pages reviewed do not say how the firm does this.sec.gov ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated sec.gov ↗
Mastercard Access not stated sec.gov ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Multi currency accounts

The EBA register lists payment services, card acquiring and e-money issuance as the firm's authorised activities. The group sells acquiring, payouts and business accounts under the Nuvei brand.

The group states that its Cyprus subsidiary uses EU passporting rights to serve EEA member states, subject to certain exceptions. The Bank of Lithuania lists the firm as providing services in Lithuania without a branch.

Sells to
Enterprises · Small businesses · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 2 countries
Cyprus · Lithuania

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chair & chief executive
Philip Fayer Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Nuvei group Confirmed 1 Jul 2026 · nuvei.com ↗
Chief financial officer
David McLaughlin David McLaughlin Chief Financial Officer, Nuvei group Confirmed 1 Jul 2026 · nuvei.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Samir Zabaneh Chief Operating Officer, Nuvei group (responsible for compliance, risk and underwriting globally) Confirmed 1 Jul 2026 · nuvei.com ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Enforcement

    The US Federal Trade Commission (FTC) announced a USD 4.85 million settlement with Nuvei entities, including the firm, over alleged processing for deceptive merchants.

    ftc.gov ↗
  2. Leadership

    The Nuvei group appointed Samir Zabaneh as Chief Operating Officer, David McLaughlin as Chief Financial Officer and Eli Rosner as Chief Product and Technology Officer.

    nuvei.com ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    The Nuvei group agreed to acquire Payoneer Global Inc. for about USD 2.75 billion. Completion is expected in mid-2027.

    nuvei.com ↗
  4. Merger / acquisition

    Neon Maple Purchaser Inc., an entity formed by Advent International, completed its acquisition of the parent, Nuvei Corporation, at about USD 6.3 billion enterprise value.

    nuvei.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
NUVECY22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. NUVEBank
  2. CYCountry · Cyprus
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
98450092FC6781F74S30
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
115.1.3.9
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
Register-entry ID
29a7f72c93af

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Cyprus
Country · region
Cyprus · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Nuvei Corporation · Canada894500ET22NO0AUZRG34 ↗

The Nuvei Corporation group has 3 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 2 do not.

Including Nuvei Global Services B.V., Payaut B.V..

See the Nuvei Corporation group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
TREPPIDES TOWER FLOOR 3 9 KAFKASOU STREET NICOSIA (LEFKOSIA) 2112 CYPRUS
Operational address
TREPPIDES TOWER FLOOR 3 9 KAFKASOU STREET NICOSIA (LEFKOSIA) 2112 NICOSIA (LEFKOSIA) CYPRUS

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>NUVECY22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>98450092FC6781F74S30</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>NUVECY22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>98450092FC6781F74S30</LEI>
  <Nm>NUVEI LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>NICOSIA LEFKOSIA</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>CY</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>TREPPIDES TOWER FLOOR 3 9 KAFKASOU STREET NICOSIA (LEFKOSIA) 2112</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Nuvei Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: nuvei.com (official website); David McLaughlin: nuvei.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo