United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Paymentsense Limited

Paymentsense Limited is a private limited company registered in England and Wales with its head office in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution (FRN 900925), and the firm also cites FCA firm reference number 738728. It is wholly owned by Hurricane Bidco Limited, part of a group headed by Typhoon Topco Limited of Jersey. Trading as Dojo, it provides card acquiring, card machines and online payments to small businesses and enterprises in the UK.

Licences and registrations

Held by Paymentsense Limited (LEI 213800EE8CG65XOVYA20). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900925 United Kingdom Active 2019-08-21 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Dojo (FCA-EMI)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

137,392

customers · This entity · 31 Mar 2025 · regulatory filing ↗

Employees

1,076

headcount · This entity · 31 Mar 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Hurricane Bidco Limited

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Dojo

Ownership
Hurricane Bidco Limited owns 100% of the firm, and the group is headed by Typhoon Topco Limited of Jersey, which the directors say has no ultimate controlling party.
Direct parent
Hurricane Bidco Limited, United Kingdom 100%
Ultimate owner
Typhoon Topco Limited, Jersey
Head office
The Brunel Building, 2 Canalside Walk, W2 1DG London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 06730690
Incorporated
22 Oct 2008
Founders
Juan Sebastien Farrarons · George Vahak Karibian

Online

Websites & references
dojo.tech ↗
docs.dojo.tech ↗ developer docs
status.dojo.tech ↗ status page
support.dojo.tech ↗ help centre
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06730690/filing-history/MzQ3ODM4NDU2OWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06730690/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06730690/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06730690/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06730690
  6. fca.org.uk/news/warnings/dojo-finance-clone-fca-authorised-firm
  7. dojo.tech
  8. dojo.tech/legal/
  9. dojo.tech/documents/
  10. dojo.tech/about/
  11. a.storyblok.com/f/267449/x/b4e244cb23/terms-and-conditions-v2.pdf
  12. dojo.tech/resources/dojo-announces-landmark-investment-from-vitruvian-partners/
  13. businesswire.com/news/home/20250528171676/en/Dojo-announces-landmark-investment-of-$190-million-from-Vitru
  14. financialit.net/news/payments/dojo-one-uks-largest-fintechs-launch-ireland
  15. businessofpayments.com/tag/paymentsense/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN 900925) for issuing e-money and providing payment services. The firm also cites FCA firm reference number 738728.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised E-Money Institution 900925 In its own name Active dojo.tech ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom FCA authorisation (firm reference number 738728) 738728 In its own name Active dojo.tech ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm says it safeguards merchant funds in a separate bank account and/or through a compliant insurance policy, without cover from the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.a.storyblok.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
American Express Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • FX conversion

It provides card acceptance through Dojo card machines, Tap to Pay on iPhone, online checkout and payment links, with dynamic currency conversion for foreign cards.

Its terms limit the service to businesses in the UK, and its 2025 accounts attribute all turnover to the UK.

Revenue
GBP 443.8mThis entity · 31 Mar 2025 · annual report ↗
Payment volume
GBP 45bnpayments processedThis entity · 31 Mar 2025 · regulatory filing ↗
Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in
United Kingdom
Latest funding round
Growth equity investment · USD 190m May 2025Led by Vitruvian Partnersdojo.tech ↗
Total raised
USD 190m to May 2025 · dojo.tech ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Founder
George Vahak Karibian Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Founder
Juan Sebastien Farrarons Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The firm issued new shares to its parent Hurricane Bidco Limited for GBP 55.0 million in May and GBP 35.1 million in June 2025.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Funding

    The Dojo group announced a USD 190 million investment from Vitruvian Partners, its first equity raise, in its parent Typhoon Topco Limited.

    dojo.tech ↗
  3. Other

    The group agreed to pay GBP 15.7 million to settle a legal dispute over a contract to enter into a building lease.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Other

    The group launched in Milan, Italy, after starting operations in Spain in May 2024.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  5. Licence

    The Central Bank of Ireland granted an e-money licence to Paymentsense Ireland Limited, the firm's wholly owned Irish subsidiary.

    financialit.net ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Financial Conduct Authority, United Kingdom

    The FCA warned that fraudsters trading as Dojo Finance were falsely claiming to be Paymentsense Limited, which has no connection with them.

    fca.org.uk ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900925
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
Elucidate firm ID
85336fa2f9a0

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-08-21

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
The Brunel Building, 2 Canalside Walk, London, W2 1DG
Country
United Kingdom

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>213800EE8CG65XOVYA20</LEI>
  <Nm>Paymentsense Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>W2 1DG</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>London</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>The Brunel Building</AdrLine>
    <AdrLine>2 Canalside Walk</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo