Germany · Payments & e-money
PAYONE GmbH
PAYONE GmbH is a German limited company with its head office in Frankfurt am Main. The Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) authorises it as an e-money institution. It is a joint venture of Worldline, which holds 60%, and the DSV Group (Deutscher Sparkassenverlag) of the Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe, which holds 40%. It sells card acceptance, payment terminals, e-commerce payment processing and point-of-sale systems to merchants in Germany and Austria.
Licences and registrations
Held by PAYONE GmbH (LEI 529900L59QDE21OSBF04). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterFederal Financial Supervisory Authority | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 123367 | Germany | Active | 2018-07-13 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Group subsidiary
60% Worldline SA
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as PAYONE
- Standing
- BaFin ordered the firm in 2024 and 2025 to hold higher own funds and fix gaps in its anti-money laundering controls. BaFin also appointed a special representative to oversee the work. BaFin's published notices do not say whether these measures have ended.
- Ownership
- Worldline holds 60% of the firm and the DSV Group (Deutscher Sparkassenverlag) holds 40%, following the contribution of Worldline's German and Austrian merchant business in March 2021.
- Direct parent
- Worldline SA, France 60%
- Major shareholders
- Worldline 60% · 1 Mar 2021
DSV Group (Deutscher Sparkassenverlag) 40% · 1 Mar 2021 - Head office
- Lyoner Straße 15, 60528 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
- Company register
- Amtsgericht Frankfurt am Main HRB 116860
Online
- Websites & references
- payone.com ↗
docs.payone.com ↗ developer documentation for e-commerce integration
Wikipedia ↗ - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · XING ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- payone.com/DE-en/imprint
- payone.com/DE-en
- payone.com/DE-en/about-us/press
- payone.com/DE-en/about-us/press/new-chief-risk-officer
- payone.com/DE-en/about-us/press/wero-e-commerce-acceptance
- payone.com/DE-en/terms-and-conditions
- portal.mvp.bafin.de/database/InstInfo/sucheForm.do?6578706f7274=1&institutName=P&sucheButtonInstitut=Suche&d-
- bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_2025_01_2
- bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_2025_12_2
- bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_2023_09_0
- investors.worldline.com/en/home/news-events/financial-press-releases/2021/pr2021_03_01_01
- worldline.com/de-de/home/main-navigation/git/office-locations
- techbook.de/shop-pay/payment-services/payone-stoerung-fehlabbuchung-zahlung-einzelhandel
- de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Payone
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
BaFin authorises the firm as an e-money institution under the Payment Services Supervision Act (ZAG), with permissions including acquiring, money remittance, payment initiation and account information. In the UK it is in the financial services contracts regime (contractual run-off) and states that it is not authorised by the FCA or the PRA.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) Germany | E-Geld-Institut (e-money institution) under the Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetz | 123367 | In its own name | Active | payone.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Wero (European Payments Initiative) Direct payone.com ↗
Visa Access not stated payone.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated payone.com ↗
girocard Access not stated payone.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It supplies card terminals, a tap-on-mobile app, e-commerce payment packages, payment links and point-of-sale systems (Tillhub, helloTESS!, ready2order). According to a June 2026 press release, it processes 7.6 billion transactions a year for 277,000 customers.
It serves merchants in Germany and Austria, and Worldline lists an Austrian branch of the firm. In the UK it is only winding down contracts made before Brexit.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in 2 countries
- Germany · Austria
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Ottmar Bloching Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
- Chair
- Michael Gievert Chairman of the Supervisory Board
- Chief financial officer
- Corinna Valentine Chief Financial Officer (CFO)
- Compliance / MLRO
- Jan Stechele Chief Risk Officer (CRO/CTO), member of the management board
Recent events 3 enforcement or investigation items
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
Worldline and the DSV Group appointed Jan Stechele as Chief Risk Officer from 1 September 2026, succeeding Dr Matthias Böcker.
payone.com ↗ -
Enforcement
BaFin fined the firm EUR 95,000 in total for an inadequate AML data processing system and insufficient risk-based due diligence in 2023.
bafin.de ↗ -
Other
The firm began offering Wero e-commerce acceptance to merchants across Germany as a member of the European Payments Initiative.
payone.com ↗ -
Enforcement
BaFin ordered higher own funds and AML remediation, and appointed a special representative to oversee implementation.
bafin.de ↗ -
Incident
A technical fault at the firm processed some Visa card transactions twice on 23 December 2023. The firm said all duplicates were refunded.
techbook.de ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 123367
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- b53a2e5fd324
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Germany · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2018-07-13
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Worldline · France549300CJMQNCA0U4TS33 ↗
The Worldline group has 10 institutions in the directory, in 8 countries: 7 hold a BIC and 3 do not.
Including Bambora AB, Global Collect Services B.V., Worldline Financial Services (Europe) S.A., Worldline Merchant Services Italia S.p.a., Worldline Merchant Services UK Limited.
See the Worldline group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Lyoner Straße 15 | 60528 Frankfurt am Main, Frankfurt am Main, 60528
- Country
- Germany
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>529900L59QDE21OSBF04</LEI>
<Nm>PAYONE GmbH</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>60528</PstCd>
<TwnNm>Frankfurt am Main</TwnNm>
<Ctry>DE</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Lyoner Straße 15 | 60528 Frankfurt</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>am Main</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
- The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.
- CBPR+ does not accept the character ß in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo