United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Pleo Financial Services UK LTD

Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its office in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with firm reference number 1020730. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Pleo Holding ApS of Denmark. Under the Pleo brand it provides e-money accounts, Pleo Commercial Mastercard cards and payments to businesses registered in the UK. Its sister company Pleo Technologies A/S supplies the spend-management software.

BICNo BIC LEINo LEI mapped Licence no.1020730

Licences and registrations

Held by Pleo Financial Services UK LTD. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 1020730 United Kingdom Active 2025-05-16 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: Pleo (FCA-EMI)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

40,000

customers · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

800

headcount · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Pleo Holding ApS

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Pleo

Standing
Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd was incorporated on 16 July 2024. The FCA authorised it as an electronic money institution on 16 May 2025. It is the Pleo group's issuer of e-money and cards for UK-registered business customers.
Ownership
Pleo Holding ApS of Copenhagen, Denmark, owns 100% of the firm, according to its 2024 audited financial statements.
Direct parent
Pleo Holding ApS, Denmark 100%
Head office
3rd Floor, 11 St John Street, Farringdon, EC1M 4AA London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 15842283
Incorporated
16 Jul 2024
Founders
Jeppe Rindom · Niccolo Perra

Online

Websites & references
pleo.io ↗
embedded.pleo.io ↗ Pleo Embedded (white-label spend management) site
developers.pleo.io ↗ developer documentation
status.pleo.io ↗ status page
help.pleo.io ↗ help centre
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/persons-with-significant-control
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history
  5. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history/MzQ4MjEzOTExOGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
  6. pleo.io/en
  7. pleo.io/en/legal
  8. pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf
  9. pleo.io/en/about

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with firm reference number 1020730. The firm issues the e-money and the cards itself. Its sister company Pleo Technologies A/S provides the software, card production and technology systems.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised Electronic Money Institution 1020730 In its own name Active pleo.io ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm's terms say it holds funds received for e-money in a safeguarded bank account, separate from its own funds, and that the Financial Services Compensation Scheme does not apply.pleo.io ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Direct pleo.io ↗
Faster Payments Access not stated pleo.io ↗
Bacs Access not stated pleo.io ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Prepaid cards
  • E-money wallet
  • Multi currency accounts
  • Domestic payments
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • Payouts and mass payments

The firm issues e-money accounts and Pleo Commercial Mastercard cards (physical, virtual, vendor and temporary cards) to UK businesses. It also offers invoice payments, employee expense reimbursements and multi-currency accounts in EUR, GBP, USD, DKK, SEK and NOK. According to its terms, the Pleo savings or investment account is provided by a third party under a separate agreement.

Its terms limit the payment service to companies, partnerships and other registered entities incorporated or registered in the UK. The group serves customers in the EEA through its Danish e-money institution.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Paul Joseph Tarrant Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Søren Westh Lonning Director (Chief Financial Officer of the Pleo group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Adrienne Gormley Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Vanessa Ann Bailey Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Martin Richard Cerullo Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Martin Richard Cerullo became a director on 1 January 2026, replacing Thorbjorn Fink, who resigned the same day.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  2. Leadership

    Paul Joseph Tarrant became a director on 1 October 2025, replacing Meredith Williams, who resigned the same day.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  3. Licence

    The FCA authorised the firm as an electronic money institution on 16 May 2025, with firm reference number 1020730.

    pleo.io ↗
  4. Other

    The firm allotted shares on 8 October 2024, raising its share capital to GBP 1.7 million.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FCA-EMI
1020730
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
LEI
No LEI mapped
Elucidate firm ID
d9081140a474

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2025-05-16

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

Addresses

Address on the register
Porters Place, 3rd Floor, 11 Saint John Street, Farringdon, EC1M 4AA
Country
United Kingdom

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>PLEO FINANCIAL SERVICES UK LTD</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>EC1M 4AA</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Farringdon</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Porters Place, 3rd Floor</AdrLine>
    <AdrLine>11 Saint John Street</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo