United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

Revolut Ltd

Revolut Ltd is a private limited company registered in England and Wales and controlled by Revolut Group Holdings Ltd. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN 900562). The FCA also registers it for cryptoasset services under the Money Laundering Regulations 2017. It provides UK users of the Revolut app with e-money accounts, paid plans, Savings Vaults, crypto and commodities services. Since March 2026 it has been moving its UK e-money accounts to its sister bank, Revolut Bank UK Ltd.

Licences and registrations

Held by Revolut Ltd (LEI 213800MQORWPL582SW82). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCA Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 900562 United Kingdom Active 2018-05-11 —
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
Money Services Business RegistryFINTRAC MSBMoney Transmitter / Remittance M18797133 Canada Ceased 2018-02-27 Ended 2021-06-01
  • Money remittance
  • Currency exchange
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: REVOLUT (FINTRAC-MSB)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

68,300,000

customers · Group · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Revolut Group Holdings Ltd

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Revolut

Standing
On 11 March 2026 the PRA lifted the restrictions on the banking licence of sister company Revolut Bank UK Ltd. The firm then began moving its UK e-money account customers to that bank in batches. The firm still provides Savings Vaults, crypto, commodities and paid plans, and serves e-money customers not yet transferred.
Ownership
Revolut Group Holdings Ltd (Companies House 12743269) holds 75% or more of the firm's shares and voting rights.
Direct parent
Revolut Group Holdings Ltd ↗, United Kingdom
Head office
30 South Colonnade, E14 5HX London, United Kingdom
Company register
Companies House 08804411
Incorporated
6 Dec 2013
Founders
Nikolay Storonsky · Vlad Yatsenko

Online

Websites & references
revolut.com ↗
help.revolut.com ↗ help centre
developer.revolut.com ↗ developer docs
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · TikTok ↗
Sources · 17 pages consulted
  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08804411
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08804411/officers
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08804411/persons-with-significant-control
  4. fca.org.uk/news/warnings/al-pha-bank-clone-fca-authorised-firm
  5. help.revolut.com/help/more/legal-topics/which-revolut-companies-provide-me-with-services/
  6. revolut.com/blog/post/revolut-is-officially-a-bank-in-the-uk/
  7. revolut.com/en-US/news/revolut_launches_uk_bank/
  8. revolut.com/how-we-keep-your-money-safe/
  9. revolut.com/legal/savings-vaults/
  10. revolut.com/legal/terms/
  11. revolut.com/legal/revolut-ltd-local-account-details-terms/
  12. revolut.com/blog/post/is-revolut-a-fully-licensed-bank-in-the-uk/
  13. assets.revolut.com/pdf/annualreport2025.pdf
  14. revolut.com/en-US/news/revolut_reports_record_profit_of_2_3bn_for_2025_as_revenue_surges_to_6bn/
  15. theregister.com/cyber-crime/2026/09/14/revolut-falls-for-fake-government-requests-hands-over-customer-dat
  16. bankingdive.com/news/revolut-valued-75-billion/806502/
  17. globalbankingandfinance.com/uk-finance-app-revolut-secondary-share-sale-underway/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN 900562). The FCA also registers it for cryptoasset services under the Money Laundering Regulations 2017. It arranges insurance as an appointed representative of Revolut Travel Ltd. Its commodities service is not regulated by the FCA.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Authorised E-Money Institution 900562 In its own name Active register.fca.org.uk ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Cryptoasset registration under the Money Laundering, Terrorist Financing and Transfer of Funds (Information on the Payer) Regulations 2017 — In its own name Active help.revolut.com ↗
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom Appointed representative of Revolut Travel Ltd (FRN 780586) for insurance arrangement — As agent Active help.revolut.com ↗
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada Money Services Business registration (ceased 2021-06-01) M18797133 In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its terms, the firm places customer funds in dedicated client money accounts with commercial or central banks, or invests them in approved low-risk assets held in client accounts. E-money balances are not covered by the FSCS.revolut.com ↗
Crypto-asset custody
Not disclosedThe firm provides cryptocurrency services to UK customers under its FCA registration under the Money Laundering Regulations 2017. The custody arrangement was not confirmed from its published terms.help.revolut.com ↗
Deposit-holding bank
ClearBank United Kingdom revolut.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated revolut.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated revolut.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • E-money wallet
  • Multi currency accounts
  • Debit cards
  • Domestic payments
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion
  • Crypto trading

The firm provides UK e-money accounts, paid plans (Plus, Premium, Metal, Ultra), Kids & Teens accounts, Savings Vaults placed with partner banks through a trustee, crypto and commodities services and Revolut Pro. It also provides local account details for receiving payments from outside the UK into Revolut Bank UK Ltd accounts.

The firm serves customers in the United Kingdom. Other Revolut group entities serve other countries.

Revenue
GBP 4.5bnGroup · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗
Payment volume
GBP 1.3tntransaction volumes (aggregate value of inbound and outbound transactions processed)Group · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses
Serves customers in
United Kingdom

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Nikolay Storonsky Director; Co-Founder and CEO of Revolut Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Founder
Vladyslav Yatsenko Director; Co-Founder and CTO of Revolut Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Martin James Gilbert Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Siddhartha Jajodia Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Caroline Louise Britton Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Executive
Michael Sidney Sherwood Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Security incident

    Revolut said a third party used a government agency email domain to obtain customer data through fraudulent information requests.

    theregister.com ↗
  2. Funding

    Revolut confirmed a secondary share sale for employees and early investors, which Reuters reported at a USD 115 billion group valuation.

    globalbankingandfinance.com ↗
  3. Leadership

    The firm appointed Siddhartha Jajodia as a director on 9 July 2026.

    find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  4. Licence

    The PRA lifted restrictions on sister company Revolut Bank UK Ltd, which began taking over the firm's UK e-money accounts.

    revolut.com ↗
  5. Funding

    Revolut completed a secondary share sale at a USD 75 billion valuation, led by Coatue, Greenoaks, Dragoneer and Fidelity Management & Research Company.

    bankingdive.com ↗
  6. Licence

    The PRA authorised sister company Revolut Bank UK Ltd with restrictions, starting its mobilisation phase.

    revolut.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Impersonation Financial Conduct Authority, United Kingdom

    The FCA warned that a clone firm, Al-pha Bank, was using the details of authorised firms including Revolut Ltd.

    fca.org.uk ↗

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FCA-EMI
900562
Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
M18797133
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives
Elucidate firm ID
ea825fba8356
Merged register entry
4e26cb9915ab · FINTRAC-MSB

Profile

Type
Payments & e-money · Money service businessPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2018-05-11

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Revolut Group Holdings LTD · United Kingdom213800UIKMYZWWQS5E02 ↗

The Revolut Group Holdings LTD group has 18 institutions in the directory, in 16 countries: 17 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Revolut Bank Uab - Sucursal Em Portugal, Revolut Bank Uab, Revolut Bank Uab, Filial I Sverige, Revolut Bank Uab (Sp Z O.O.) Oddzial W Polsce, Revolut Bank Uab Ireland Branch.

See the Revolut Group Holdings LTD group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
30 South Colonnade, London, E14 5HX
Country
United Kingdom

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>213800MQORWPL582SW82</LEI>
  <Nm>Revolut Ltd</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>E14 5HX</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>London</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>30 South Colonnade</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Registers for this page

  • FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo