Portugal · Payments & e-money

Sibs Pagamentos, S.A.

SIBS Pagamentos is a Portuguese sociedade anónima (public limited company). Banco de Portugal authorises it as a payment institution under IF code 8703, and it has operated since 5 May 2011. The SIBS group, owner of the Multibanco network and MB WAY, set it up in 2011 to hold the group's acquiring business. SIBS SGPS, S.A. owns all of it. It acquires card payments for merchants at points of sale and online, and card withdrawals at ATMs. It serves merchants in Portugal and in other European markets.

BICSIAOPTP1XXX LEI213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69 Licence no.8703 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of SIAOPTP1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Group: Sibs - Sgps, S.A. Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Sibs Pagamentos, S.A. (LEI 213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of PortugalLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. Payment institutionPayment Institution 8703 Portugal Active 2011-05-05 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
SIAOPTP1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of SIAOPTP1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2017-01-07
Last updated
2018-01-06

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

5

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% SIBS - SGPS, S.A.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as SIBS

Ownership
SIBS SGPS, S.A. holds 100% of the firm's share capital. According to press reports, Portuguese banks own SIBS SGPS.
Direct parent
SIBS - SGPS, S.A. ↗, Portugal 100%
Head office
Alfrapark, Edifício E, Estrada de Alfragide, nº67, 2610-008 Amadora, Portugal
Company register
Conservatória do Registo Comercial de Lisboa / NIPC 509 776 965
Incorporated
2011

Online

Websites & references
sibs.com ↗
corporate.sibs.com ↗ SIBS group corporate site, which publishes the entity's annual reports
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
  1. bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa
  2. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/sibs-pagamentos-s-a
  3. corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf
  4. sibs.com/
  5. sibs.com/acquiring-services/
  6. eco.sapo.pt/2026/04/06/novo-ceo-da-sibs-toma-posse-com-desafios-exigentes-pela-frente/
  7. dinheirovivo.dn.pt/empresas/grupo-sibs-anuncia-joo-mello-franco-como-presidente-da-comisso-executiva
  8. eco.sapo.pt/2024/03/19/sibs-vai-contestar-coima-de-14-milhoes-aplicada-pela-concorrencia/
  9. publico.pt/2024/03/19/economia/noticia/sibs-recebe-multa-139-milhoes-abuso-posicao-dominante-2084091

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

Banco de Portugal authorises the firm as a payment institution under IF code 8703. The authorisation covers payment services and card acquiring. The firm provides services in other EU states under the EU freedom to provide services, for example in Lithuania without a branch.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Banco de Portugal Portugal Payment institution 8703 In its own name Active bportugal.pt ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm does not publish how it protects merchants' funds. Its 2024 accounts state that it holds restricted bank deposits for its acquiring business at Millennium BCP and Caixa Geral de Depósitos.corporate.sibs.com ↗
Deposit-holding bank
Banco Comercial Português (Millennium BCP) Portugal corporate.sibs.com ↗
Deposit-holding bank
Caixa Geral de Depósitos Portugal corporate.sibs.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
MB (Multibanco scheme) Access not stated corporate.sibs.com ↗
Visa Access not stated sibs.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated sibs.com ↗
UnionPay International (UPI) Access not stated sibs.com ↗
Diners Club Access not stated sibs.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

The firm acquires card payments at physical and online points of sale and card withdrawals at ATMs, and offers dynamic currency conversion (DCC).

According to its 2024 report, it operates in Portugal, Romania, Poland, France and the Netherlands, and the SIBS website also lists Spain for acquiring. The Bank of Lithuania lists it as providing services in Lithuania without a branch.

Revenue
EUR 55mThis entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗
Payment volume
EUR 2.71bnValue of card transactions accepted in the e-commerce channel (digital POS)This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Enterprises · Small businesses
Serves customers in 7 countries
Portugal · Spain · France · Poland · Romania · Netherlands · Lithuania

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chair
Hélder Pereira Neves President of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bportugal.pt ↗
Executive
Ana Teresa Carvalho Mesquita Borba da Silva Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bportugal.pt ↗
Executive
Rui Filipe Carvalho Diogo Mendonça de Lima Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bportugal.pt ↗
Executive
Ricardo Sandro de Chaves Madeira Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bportugal.pt ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    The SIBS group co-opted João Mello Franco as chief executive of the group, with Vítor Fernandes remaining chairman.

    eco.sapo.pt ↗
  2. Leadership

    Madalena Cascais Tomé, group chief executive and chair of the firm's board in 2024, left SIBS to join Worldline.

    dinheirovivo.dn.pt ↗
  3. Other

    The firm began e-commerce acquiring in Romania with its first local client, according to its 2024 annual report.

    corporate.sibs.com ↗
  4. Enforcement

    Portugal's Competition Authority fined the SIBS group EUR 13,869,000 for tying processing to scheme access. The decision named four sister companies, not this firm.

    eco.sapo.pt ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
SIAOPTP1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. SIAOBank
  2. PTCountry · Portugal
  3. P1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
8703
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
Register-entry ID
3384694c0194

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Portugal
Country · region
Portugal · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Sibs - Sgps, S.A. · Portugal2138008D1ALX65NCVO62 ↗

The Sibs - Sgps, S.A. group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: all hold a BIC.

Including Sibs Forward Payment Solutions SA.

See the Sibs - Sgps, S.A. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
EDIFICIO DA BOLSA FLOOR 13 RUA SOEIRO PEREIRA GOMES 1 LISBON 1649-031 PORTUGAL
Operational address
EDIFICIO DA BOLSA LOTE 1 FLOOR 13 RUA SOEIRO PEREIRA GOMES LISBON 1649-031 LISBON PORTUGAL

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SIAOPTP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SIAOPTP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69</LEI>
  <Nm>SIBS PAGAMENTOS, S.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LISBON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>EDIFICIO DA BOLSA FLOOR 13 RUA SOEIRO PEREIRA GOMES 1 LISBON 1649-031</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Sibs Pagamentos, S.A.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: sibs.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo