- Directory
- United Kingdom
- SMBC Bank International PLC
United Kingdom · Financial institution
SMBC Bank International PLC
SMBC Bank International plc is a public limited company registered in England and Wales, with its head office in London. It is wholly owned by Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation, the banking subsidiary of Japan's Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group. It provides lending, capital markets, structured finance and trading services to corporate, sovereign and institutional clients in the UK and in non-EEA Europe, the Middle East and Africa. It began operating in 2003 as Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation Europe Limited, took its current name in 2020 and took over SMBC Nikko Capital Markets' securities business in October 2024.
Licences and registrations
Matched by LEI on the 22 tracked registers
None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registers.
- The tracked registers cover payment, e-money, crypto and money-service firms in 37 countries. Bank licences from national supervisors are not tracked.
Regulatory status
FSB · global systemically important banks
2025 list
- G-SIB
- Sumitomo Mitsui FG
- Relation
- In a G-SIB groupGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.
- Bucket
- 1 of 5 · extra capital buffer 1.0% of risk-weighted assets
- On the list since
- 2011
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- SMBCGB2LXXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under SMBCGB2L directly.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SCT Inst · SDD Core · SDD B2B
- Branch codes
- 1 branch code
- Other BIC with this LEI
- SMBCITMM
- BIC first registered
- 2001-09-01
- Last updated
- 2022-05-30
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
Institution type
Commercial bank
Trades as SMBC BI
- Standing
- The bank was renamed from Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation Europe Limited and re-registered as a public limited company in 2020. On 16 February 2026 it transferred the business of its Paris branch to SMBC Bank EU AG. The Paris branch is being closed.
- Ownership
- Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation holds 100% and is the sole shareholder, with Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. as the ultimate parent.
- Direct parent
- Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation, Japan 100%
- Ultimate owner
- Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc., Japan
- Head office
- 100 Liverpool Street, EC2M 2AT London, United Kingdom
- Company register
- 04684034, Companies House (England and Wales)
- Former names
- SMBC Bank International Limited · Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation Europe Limited
Business lines
According to its 2026 annual report, the bank works through three business verticals: corporate and investment banking, structured finance solutions and sales and trading.
Online
- Websites & references
- smbcgroup.com ↗
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 8 pages consulted
- smbcgroup.com/emea/getmedia/0d7d89bd-3d75-4747-8dd4-d91b9195ea67/SMBC_BI_AR26_hyperlinked-PDF.pdf
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04684034/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04684034
- smbcgroup.com/emea/
- smbcgroup.com/emea/about/Notices-and-reporting/Settlements-Instructions
- smbcgroup.com/emea/about/Notices-and-reporting
- smbcgroup.com/emea/about-us/history-heritage
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sumitomo_Mitsui_Banking_Corporation
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Hiroshi Ibaraki Chief Executive Officer
- Chair
- Sophie O'Connor Chair
- Executive
- Antony Yates Deputy Chief Executive Officer
- Executive
- Elena Paitra Head of Corporate and Investment Banking (executive director)
Supervisors & regulators
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- United Kingdom
- Bank of England (Prudential Regulation Authority) Prudential supervisorCentral bankResolution
- United Kingdom
- Financial Conduct Authority ConductAML supervisor
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
Hiroshi Ibaraki became chief executive on 1 April 2026. He succeeded Hideo Kawafune, who left the board on 31 March 2026.
smbcgroup.com ↗ -
Other
The bank transferred the business of its Paris branch to SMBC Bank EU AG on 16 February 2026.
smbcgroup.com ↗ -
Merger / acquisition
The bank took over the securities business of its affiliate SMBC Nikko Capital Markets Limited and began operating as a universal bank.
smbcgroup.com ↗ -
Leadership
Sophie O'Connor was appointed board chair on 2 September 2024, after Alan Keir left the board on 1 September 2024.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, incidents, leadership changes, mergers and licence changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- SMBCGB2LXXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- SMBCBank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 2LLocation
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- NT7C58H5HPZYKZDPOO64
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Profile
- Type
- Financial institutionClassified as a financial institution in Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, with no licence on a tracked register. This includes banks that neither the ECB nor the FSB lists, as well as brokers, fund managers, insurers and market infrastructure.
- Regulation
- Not on a tracked registerNo licence or registration was found for this entity on the registers the directory tracks, or on the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks are licensed by national supervisors whose registers are not tracked yet. This does not mean that the institution is unregulated.
- Register licences
- None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registersThe tracked registers cover payment, e-money, crypto and money-service firms in 37 countries. Bank licences from national supervisors are not tracked.
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- FSB G-SIB list
- In a G-SIB group · Sumitomo Mitsui FG list of 2025
- Trading venues (MIC)
- Operates 2 MICs list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
No licence or registration was found for this entity on the 22 registers the directory tracks, or on the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks are licensed by national supervisors whose registers are not tracked yet. This does not mean that the institution is unregulated.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- 株式会社三井住友銀行 · Japan5U0XI89JRFVHWIBS4F54 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. · Japan35380028MYWPB6AUO129 ↗
- FSB G-SIB list
- In a G-SIB group · Sumitomo Mitsui FG bucket 1 · 2025 listGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.
The Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. group has 40 institutions in the directory, in 26 countries: all hold a BIC.
Including Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank), Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation, SMBC Bank Eu AG, SMBC Nikko Bank (Luxembourg) S.A., Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation.
See the Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 100 LIVERPOOL STREET LONDON EC2M 2AT UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- 100 LIVERPOOL STREET LONDON LONDON EC2M 2AT UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>SMBCGB2LXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>NT7C58H5HPZYKZDPOO64</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>SMBCGB2LXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>NT7C58H5HPZYKZDPOO64</LEI>
<Nm>SMBC BANK INTERNATIONAL PLC</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>100 LIVERPOOL STREET LONDON EC2M 2AT</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2008-01-28 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2025-05-09 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages | 2010-11-01 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages | 2010-11-01 | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Market identifiers
2 trading venues and reporting services run under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| SMBE | SUMITOMO MITSUI BANKING CORPORATION EUROPE LIMITED | Operating MIC | Not specified |
| SMBP | SUMITOMO MITSUI BANKING CORPORATION EUROPE LIMITED - PARIS BRANCH | Operating MIC | Not specified |
Network
Branches and correspondent banking
One branch BIC connects to the head office. The bank publishes 59 accounts at other banks, across 7 regions. 2 other banks publish 49 accounts held with this bank.
- Own offices
- Correspondent banks: it holds accounts there
- Respondent banks: they hold accounts here
Hover over a branch, account or group to see its details
Correspondent accounts
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
59 accounts at other banks, in 33 currencies, as the bank publishes them: smbcgroup.com ↗
| Currency | Correspondent | BIC | Account | Purpose | Directory check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AED | Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates | ADCBAEAA | AE510030000100086001001 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| AUD | Australia and New Zealand Bank Australia | ANZBAU3M | 961821AUD00001 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| CAD | Royal Bank of Canada Toronto Canada | ROYCCAT2 | 1452259 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| CHF | UBS Switzerland AG Switzerland | UBSWCHZH80A | CH070023023004437605B | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| CNY | SMBC Hong Kong Hong Kong SAR China | SMBCHKHH | 63438532 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| CZK | Ceskoslovenska Obchodni Banka Prague Czechia | CEKOCZPP | CZ9003000080100066537433 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| DKK | Danske Bank A/S Copenhagen Denmark | DABADKKK | DK2930003007528213 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| EUR | Deutsche Bank AG Frankfurt Germany | DEUTDEFF | DE08500700100927346710 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| GBP | Barclays Bank PLC London United Kingdom | BARCGB22 | GB25BARC20325393567141 | Corporate banking; alternatively direct via CHAPS sort code 405125 | Matches the Swift directory |
| HKD | SMBC Hong Kong Hong Kong SAR China | SMBCHKHH | 63438531 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| HUF | OTP Bank Ltd Budapest Hungary | OTPVHUHB | HU94117820078108557200000000 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| INR | SMBC New Delhi India | SMBCINDD | 10002701 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| JPY | SMBC Tokyo Japan | SMBCJPJT | 4084 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| KWD | Gulf Bank KSC Kuwait Kuwait | GULBKWKW | KW38GULB0000000000000009101405 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Directory name differs GULF BANK, K.S.C.P. |
| MXN | BBVA Bancomer S.A. Mexico Mexico | BCMRMXMMCOR | 0095003373 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| NOK | DNB NOR Bank ASA Oslo Norway | DNBANOKK | NO8370010232285 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| NZD | ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited New Zealand | ANZBNZ22 | 961821NZD00001 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| PLN | PKO Bank Polski SA Warsaw Poland | BPKOPLPW | PL86102000161201110000000029 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| QAR | Qatar National Bank S.A.Q. Doha Qatar | QNBAQAQA | QA16QNBA000000000001800458001 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| RON | Romanian Commercial Bank Bucharest Romania | RNCBROBU | RO18RNCB0002058398100001 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| RUB | JSC Sumitomo Mitsui Rus Bank Moscow Russia | SMBCRUMM | 30111810300000000003 | Corporate banking (INN 9909178693) | Matches the Swift directory |
| SAR | Riyad Bank Riyadh Saudi Arabia | RIBLSARI | SA7720000009250309059940 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| SEK | Svenska Handelsbanken AB Stockholm Sweden | HANDSESS | SE7160000000000040330699 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| SGD | SMBC Singapore Singapore | SMBCSGSG | 68459811 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| THB | SMBC Bangkok Thailand | SMBCTHBK | 50334661 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| TRY | Turkiye Garanti Bankasi AS Istanbul Türkiye | TGBATRIS093 | TR320006200093000006499733 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| USD | SMBC New York United States | SMBCUS33 | 584354 | Corporate banking; also via CHIPS (UID 142193) or Fed ABA 026009674 | Matches the Swift directory |
| ZAR | ABSA Bank Ltd Johannesburg South Africa | ABSAZAJJ | 709287ZAR671201 | Corporate banking: FX, money market, loans, trade finance, commercial payments | Matches the Swift directory |
| AED | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE61687574772617 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Standard Chartered Bank Dubai (SCBLAEADXXX) | Matches the Swift directory |
| AUD | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE04687574774031 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary ANZ Bank Melbourne (ANZBAU3M) | Matches the Swift directory |
| BRL | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE49687574778071 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Citibank Sao Paulo (CITIBRSX) | Matches the Swift directory |
| CAD | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE43687574771001 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Royal Bank of Canada Toronto (ROYCCAT2) | Matches the Swift directory |
| CHF | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE96687574771405 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary UBS Switzerland AG Zurich (UBSWCHZH80A) | Matches the Swift directory |
| CNY | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE55687574775344 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary HSBC Limited Hong Kong (HSBCHKHHHKH) | Matches the Swift directory |
| CZK | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE41687574771910 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Citibank Europe plc Prague (CITICZPX) | Matches the Swift directory |
| DKK | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE70687574773425 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Danske Bank A/S Copenhagen (DABADKKK) | Matches the Swift directory |
| EUR | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBEECL | BE68687574774334 | Capital markets cash settlement | Matches the Swift directory |
| GBP | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE12687574770492 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Deutsche Bank AG London (DEUTGB2L) | Matches the Swift directory |
| HKD | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE17687574773021 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary HSBC Limited Hong Kong (HSBCHKHHHKH) | Matches the Swift directory |
| HUF | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE75687574776051 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Citibank Europe plc Budapest (CITIHUHXCUS) | Matches the Swift directory |
| IDR | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE10687574771304 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Deutsche Bank AG Jakarta (DEUTIDJA) | Matches the Swift directory |
| ILS | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE72687574772516 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Bank Hapoalim B.M. Tel Aviv (POALILIT) | Matches the Swift directory |
| JPY | SMBC Tokyo Japan | SMBCJPJT | 5441 | Capital markets cash settlement | Matches the Swift directory |
| JPY | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE83687574772415 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Mizuho Bank Ltd Tokyo (MHCBJPJT) | Matches the Swift directory |
| MXN | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE98687574770593 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Banco Santander (Mexico) S.A. (BMSXMXMMSSS) | Matches the Swift directory |
| MYR | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE22687574775647 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Deutsche Bank (Malaysia) Berhad (DEUTMYKL) | Matches the Swift directory |
| NOK | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE30687574772011 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Nordea Bank Norge ASA Oslo (NDEANOKK) | Matches the Swift directory |
| NZD | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE79687574774233 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary ANZ National Bank Limited Wellington (ANZBNZ22) | Matches the Swift directory |
| PHP | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE81687574773324 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Citibank N.A. Manila (CITIPHMX) | Matches the Swift directory |
| PLN | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE19687574772112 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Bank Handlowy w Warszawie SA (CITIPLPX) | Matches the Swift directory |
| SEK | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE08687574772213 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken AB (ESSESESS) | Matches the Swift directory |
| SGD | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE66687574775243 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary DBS Bank Ltd Singapore (DBSSSGSG) | Matches the Swift directory |
| THB | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE54687574770997 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Bangkok Bank PCL (BKKBTHBK) | Matches the Swift directory |
| TRY | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE93687574777667 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Turkiye Garanti Bankasi AS (TGBATRIS093) | Matches the Swift directory |
| USD | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE56687574770088 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Bank of New York (IRVTUS3N) | Matches the Swift directory |
| USD | Bank of New York, New York United States | IRVTUS3N | GLA/111-569, SPM | Capital markets cash settlement | Directory name differs THE BANK OF NEW YORK MELLON |
| USD | Bank of New York, New York United States | IRVTUS3N | 7549060000 | DTC US corporate bonds, trade pair-offs only | Directory name differs THE BANK OF NEW YORK MELLON |
| ZAR | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | BE63687574771708 | Capital markets cash settlement; intermediary Standard Bank of South Africa (SBZAZAJJ) | Matches the Swift directory |
| — | Euroclear Belgium | MGTCBEBE | 57477 | Securities settlement (fixed income and equity) | Matches the Swift directory |
Undated SSI web page. Rows 1 to 28 are the corporate banking SSIs (FX, money market deposits, loans, trade finance and commercial payments), all extracted. Rows 29 to 58 are the capital markets cash SSIs, mostly via the bank's Euroclear accounts, all extracted. Row 59 is the Euroclear securities account. Not extracted: the custody details for equities and fixed income (JASDEC, CHESS, CREST, DTC etc.), the Deutsche Bank London custodian line and the sister-branch SSIs on the same page. For GBP the page also offers direct CHAPS, sort code 405125. For USD it also offers CHIPS UID 142193 and Fed ABA 026009674 via SMBC New York. A RUB account at JSC Sumitomo Mitsui Rus Bank is still listed. Each correspondent BIC is checked against the Swift directory: a BIC missing from it, or registered to a differently named bank, may be a typo or out of date. Confirm settlement instructions with the bank before relying on them.
Respondent banks
From the correspondent lists other banks publish
2 other banks publish 49 accounts held with this bank, in 25 currencies.
| Currency | Respondent bank | Held at | Account | Purpose | Published in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AED | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB94SMBC40512500341711 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary ADCBAEAA Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| AUD | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB67SMBC40512500341712 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary ANZBAU3M Australia and New Zealand Bank | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CAD | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB40SMBC40512500341713 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary ROYCCAT2 Royal Bank of Canada Toronto | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CHF | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB77SMBC40512500341726 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary UBSWCHZH80A UBS Switzerland AG | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CNY | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB23SMBC40512500341728 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary SMBCHKHH SMBC Hong Kong | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CZK | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB12SMBC40512500341732 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary CEKOCZPP Ceskoslovenska Obchodni Banka Prague | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| DKK | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB82SMBC40512500341733 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary DABADKKK Danske Bank A/S Copenhagen | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| GBP | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB24SMBC40512500341710 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary BARCGB22 Barclays Bank plc London | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| HKD | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB55SMBC40512500341734 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary SMBCHKHH SMBC Hong Kong | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| HUF | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB28SMBC40512500341735 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary OTPVHUHB OTP Bank Ltd Budapest | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| INR | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB71SMBC40512500341737 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary SMBCINDD SMBC New Delhi | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| KWD | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB49SMBC40512500341745 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary GULBKWKW Gulf Bank KSC Kuwait | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| MXN | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB22SMBC40512500341746 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary BCMRMXMMCOR BBVA Bancomer SA Mexico | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| NOK | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB65SMBC40512500341748 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary DNBANOKK DNB NOR Bank ASA Oslo | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| NZD | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB38SMBC40512500341749 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary ANZBNZ22 ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| PLN | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB11SMBC40512500341750 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary BPKOPLPW PKO Bank Polski SA Warsaw | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| QAR | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB54SMBC40512500341752 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary QNBAQAQA Qatar National Bank SAQ Doha | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| RON | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB86SMBC40512500341758 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary RNCBROBU Romanian Commercial Bank Bucharest | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| SAR | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB48SMBC40512500341763 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary RIBLSARI Riyad Bank Riyadh | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| SEK | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB21SMBC40512500341764 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary HANDSESS Svenska Handelsbanken AB Stockholm | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| SGD | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB53SMBC40512500341770 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary SMBCSGSG SMBC Singapore | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| THB | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB96SMBC40512500341772 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary SMBCTHBK SMBC Bangkok | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| TRY | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB85SMBC40512500341776 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary TGBATRIS093 Turkiye Garanti Bankasi AS Istanbul | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| ZAR | SMBC Bank Eu AG Germany | SMBCGB2L | GB58SMBC40512500341777 | Standard settlement instructions; intermediary ABSAZAJJ ABSA Bank Ltd Johannesburg | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| AED | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB37SMBC40512500337596 | London Branch SSI; intermediary ADCBAEAA Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| AUD | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB10SMBC40512500337597 | London Branch SSI; intermediary ANZBAU3M Australia and New Zealand Bank | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CAD | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB80SMBC40512500337598 | London Branch SSI; intermediary ROYCCAT2 Royal Bank of Canada Toronto | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CHF | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB53SMBC40512500337599 | London Branch SSI; intermediary UBSWCHZH80A UBS Switzerland AG | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CNY | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB26SMBC40512500337600 | London Branch SSI; intermediary SMBCHKHH SMBC Hong Kong | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| CZK | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB96SMBC40512500337601 | London Branch SSI; intermediary CEKOCZPP Ceskoslovenska Obchodni Banka Prague | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| DKK | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB69SMBC40512500337602 | London Branch SSI; intermediary DABADKKK Danske Bank A/S Copenhagen | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| GBP | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB86SMBC40512500337587 | London Branch SSI; intermediary BARCGB22 Barclays Bank plc London or direct via CHAPS //SC405125 | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| HKD | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB85SMBC40512500337605 | London Branch SSI; intermediary SMBCHKHH SMBC Hong Kong | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| HUF | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB74SMBC40512500337609 | London Branch SSI; intermediary OTPVHUHB OTP Bank Ltd Budapest | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| INR | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB20SMBC40512500337611 | London Branch SSI; intermediary SMBCINDD SMBC New Delhi | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| KWD | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB90SMBC40512500337612 | London Branch SSI; intermediary GULBKWKW Gulf Bank KSC Kuwait | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| MXN | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB12SMBC40512500337658 | London Branch SSI; intermediary BCMRMXMMCOR BBVA Bancomer SA Mexico | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| NOK | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB63SMBC40512500337613 | London Branch SSI; intermediary DNBANOKK DNB NOR Bank ASA Oslo | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| NZD | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB36SMBC40512500337614 | London Branch SSI; intermediary ANZBNZ22 ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| PLN | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB56SMBC40512500337642 | London Branch SSI; intermediary BPKOPLPW PKO Bank Polski SA Warsaw | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| QAR | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB45SMBC40512500337646 | London Branch SSI; intermediary QNBAQAQA Qatar National Bank SAQ Doha | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| RON | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB88SMBC40512500337648 | London Branch SSI; intermediary RNCBROBU Romanian Commercial Bank Bucharest | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| RUB | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB61SMBC40512500337649 | London Branch SSI; intermediary SMBCRUMM JSC Sumitomo Mitsui Rus Bank Moscow | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| SAR | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB34SMBC40512500337650 | London Branch SSI; intermediary RIBLSARI Riyad Bank Riyadh | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| SEK | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB07SMBC40512500337651 | London Branch SSI; intermediary HANDSESS Svenska Handelsbanken AB Stockholm | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| SGD | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB77SMBC40512500337652 | London Branch SSI; intermediary SMBCSGSG SMBC Singapore | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| THB | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB50SMBC40512500337653 | London Branch SSI; intermediary SMBCTHBK SMBC Bangkok | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| TRY | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB66SMBC40512500337656 | London Branch SSI; intermediary TGBATRIS093 Turkiye Garanti Bankasi AS Istanbul | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
| ZAR | Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (Formerly Sumitomo Bank) Japan | SMBCGB2L | GB39SMBC40512500337657 | London Branch SSI; intermediary ABSAZAJJ ABSA Bank Ltd Johannesburg | smbcgroup.com ↗ |
Each row is an account the respondent bank lists as held with this bank, as published. Only banks that publish their correspondent accounts, and that Elucidate has researched, can appear, so the list is not complete. Confirm settlement instructions with either bank before relying on them.
Branch codes
| BIC | Branch | City | Address | LEI | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SMBCGB2LSPS | SPECIAL PRODUCTS AND SERVICES | London | 99 QUEEN VICTORIA STREET LONDON LONDON EC4V 4EH UNITED KINGDOM | NT7C58H5HPZYKZDPOO64 | 2022-05-30 |
Claim this profile
Work at SMBC Bank International PLC?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, leadership, regulators and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the institution's own website and reports, regulators, company registers and news. Figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: smbcgroup.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo