Poland · Payments & e-money

Volt Technologies sp. z o.o.

Volt Technologies sp. z o.o. is a Polish limited liability company based in Kraków. The Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF) authorised it as a national payment institution on 25 August 2023. The Romanian National Office for Gambling (ONJN) authorises it as a class II licensed operator. It is a subsidiary of Volt Technologies Holdings Limited of London, the parent of the Volt group. Under the Volt brand it offers pay-by-bank payment initiation, payouts, payment accounts and virtual IBANs to businesses in the EEA.

Licences and registrations

Held by Volt Technologies sp. z o.o. (LEI 529900WKP5YDMRFB5B17). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPolish Financial Supervision Authority Payment institutionPayment Institution 6751727042 Poland Active 2023-08-31 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Volt Technologies Holdings Limited

Firm type

Open banking

Trades as Volt

Ownership
Volt Technologies Holdings Limited, a venture-backed company registered in England and Wales, is the direct and ultimate parent of the firm.
Direct parent
Volt Technologies Holdings Limited, United Kingdom
Head office
ul. Stefana Rogozińskiego 6, 31-559 Kraków, Poland
Company register
KRS 0000835557
Incorporated
2020
Founder
Steffen Vollert

Online

Websites & references
volt.io ↗
docs.volt.io ↗ developer documentation (group)
fuzebox.volt.io ↗ merchant portal login (Fuzebox)
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. knf.gov.pl/komunikacja/komunikaty?articleId=83544&p_id=18
  2. volt.io/legal/regulatory/
  3. volt.io/legal/user-terms/
  4. volt.io/legal/safeguarding/
  5. volt.io/about/
  6. volt.io/market-coverage/
  7. volt.io/newsroom/
  8. volt.io/newsroom/volt-raises-60m-series-b/
  9. financialit.net/news/cash-management/volt-launches-flagship-cash-management-suite-merchants-and-partners-
  10. cashless.pl/14125-volt-technologies-kip-knf

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The KNF authorises the firm as a national payment institution (register ID 635816). Its authorisation covers payment accounts, credit transfers, direct debits, card-based transactions, issuing payment instruments, money remittance, payment initiation and account information. It passports this authorisation to EU and EEA states on a services basis. The EBA register lists the host states.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Polish Financial Supervision Authority (KNF) Poland National Payment Institution (krajowa instytucja płatnicza) 635816 In its own name Active volt.io ↗
National Office for Gambling (Oficiul Național pentru Jocuri de Noroc, ONJN) Romania Class II licence (gambling-related activities, payment processor) 723 In its own name Active volt.io ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsVolt states that funds in Volt Accounts under its Polish payment institution licence are safeguarded in designated safeguarding accounts with authorised credit institutions. It states that these funds are not covered by Poland's Bank Guarantee Fund.volt.io ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated volt.io ↗
Express Elixir Access not stated volt.io ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Payment initiation (open banking)
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • Domestic payments
  • Account information (open banking)

It provides businesses with account-to-account pay-by-bank collections, refunds and payouts, plus Volt Accounts, Named Accounts and virtual IBANs. Volt describes the EU accounts as payment accounts that function in a similar way to e-money wallets. Volt lists gaming, crypto, wealthtech, travel and retail among the sectors it serves.

It serves merchants across the EU and EEA under its Polish authorisation, which it passports on a cross-border services basis.

Sells to
Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 30 countries
Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
Latest funding round
Series B · USD 60m Jun 2023Led by IVPvolt.io ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Steffen Vollert Chief Executive Officer (Volt group); co-founder Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · volt.io ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Ayo Salam SVP Compliance & Risk (Volt group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · volt.io ↗
Executive
Stephanie Lopes Chief Legal Officer (Volt group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · volt.io ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Volt launched Volt Accounts, Named Accounts and virtual IBANs for all merchants in the UK and EU, relying partly on the firm's Polish licence.

    financialit.net ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
6751727042
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
5ae9b57a0eb8

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
Licensed in
Poland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2023-08-31

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

The Volt Technologies Holdings Limited group has 3 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 2 do not.

Including Volt Technologies Holdings Limited, Volt Technologies Limited.

See the Volt Technologies Holdings Limited group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Stefana Rogozińskiego 6, Kraków, 31-559, PL, Kraków, 31-559
Country
Poland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>529900WKP5YDMRFB5B17</LEI>
  <Nm>Volt Technologies sp. z o.o.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>31-559</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Kraków</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Stefana Rogozińskiego 6, Kraków</AdrLine>
    <AdrLine>31-559, PL</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.
  • CBPR+ does not accept the characters ó ń in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo