- Directory
- United Kingdom
- Worldpay Limited
United Kingdom · Payments & e-money
Worldpay Limited
Worldpay Limited is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its seat in London. The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) authorises it as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, with firm reference number 504504. It belongs to the Worldpay group, which Global Payments Inc. acquired on 9 January 2026. According to its 2024 accounts, it provides internet payment solutions that let merchants accept card-not-present payments. It also runs a branch in the Netherlands.
Licences and registrations
Held by Worldpay Limited (LEI 213800LXYGUXTTAINM18). 3 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money InstitutionsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 1031413 | United Kingdom | Active | 2025-11-19 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 504504 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-04-13 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPsFCALinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 530923 | United Kingdom | Active | 2018-04-13 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: RBS WorldPay (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD), Gateway (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD), eCommerce (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD), Streamline (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD), Worldpay (FCA-EMI, FCA-PSD)
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- WORAGB21XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of WORAGB21 marks a passive participant.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2018-12-01
- Last updated
- 2018-12-01
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Worldpay Group Limited
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as Worldpay
- Standing
- Global Payments Inc. completed its acquisition of the Worldpay group on 9 January 2026. The firm remains an active company and an FCA-authorised payment institution.
- Ownership
- Worldpay Group Limited (Companies House 08762327) holds 75% or more of the shares and votes, and Global Payments Inc. has owned the Worldpay group since 9 January 2026.
- Direct parent
- Worldpay Group Limited, United Kingdom
- Ultimate owner
- Global Payments Inc., United States
- Head office
- The Walbrook Building, 25 Walbrook, EC4N 8AF London, United Kingdom
- Company register
- Companies House 03424752
- Incorporated
- 26 Aug 1997
- Former name
- WORLDPAY PLC
Online
- Websites & references
- worldpay.com ↗
docs.worldpay.com ↗ developer documentation
apply-online.worldpay.com ↗ UK online merchant application site - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03424752
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03424752/officers
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03424752/persons-with-significant-control
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03424752/filing-history
- find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03424752/filing-history/MzQ4NDU0MTEwOGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
- register.fca.org.uk/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?file=015b0000006CXC7
- register.fca.org.uk/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?file=015b0000006CWmx
- apply-online.worldpay.com/
- worldpay.com/en-GB/legal
- worldpay.com/en-GB/legal/merchant-services-terms-conditions
- sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1123360/000110465926002705/tm262856d1_8k.htm
- globalpayments.com/worldpay
- investors.globalpayments.com/news-events/press-releases/detail/498/global-payments-completes-acquisition-of-worldpay-a
- americanbanker.com/payments/news/worldpay-suffers-payments-outage-during-world-cup
- paymentexpert.com/2026/06/24/worldpay-outage-uk-england-ghana
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (FRN 504504). Its accounts say card processing depends on certification by the card schemes, including sponsorship by member banks, but they do not name these banks.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 504504 | In its own name | Active | — |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm's 2024 accounts state that it holds the merchant float in a fiduciary capacity and reports it separately from its own cash. The accounts do not describe a safeguarding bank or method.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Mastercard Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
American Express Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Discover Access not stated find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
According to its 2024 accounts, the firm provides online card-not-present payment acceptance to merchants. It is part of Worldpay's global e-commerce business, which focuses on digital content, global retail, airlines, travel, gambling and video games.
According to its 2024 accounts, 88.2% of turnover arose in the United Kingdom and 11.8% in the Netherlands, where the firm has a branch.
- Revenue
- GBP 130.8m
- Sells to
- Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in 2 countries
- United Kingdom · Netherlands
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- Peter Wickes Director
- Executive
- Jason Mark Robinson Director
- Executive
- Gabriel Luc Andre Marie Bernard de Montessus de Ballore Director
- Executive
- Anne Christine Van Schrader Director
- Executive
- Christopher Mark Wood Director
- Executive
- Jennifer Bozeman Whyte Director
Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
The firm appointed Jennifer Bozeman Whyte as a director on 17 July 2026.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Incident
On 23 June 2026 some UK Worldpay platforms had authorisation failures for several hours, which Worldpay blamed on a third-party power disruption.
americanbanker.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Christopher Mark Wood as a director on 12 May 2026.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Leadership
Gabrielle Lisa Scheibe stepped down as a director on 6 March 2026.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Merger / acquisition
Global Payments Inc. completed its acquisition of Worldpay Holdco, LLC, the firm's group parent, from FIS and GTCR on 9 January 2026.
sec.gov ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Anne Christine Van Schrader as a director on 5 January 2026.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗ -
Merger / acquisition
Global Payments agreed on 17 April 2025 to acquire the Worldpay group from GTCR and FIS.
globalpayments.com ↗ -
Merger / acquisition
The Worldpay group separated from FIS, and the firm became an indirect subsidiary of Worldpay Holdco, LLC, 58.2% owned by GTCR.
find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- WORAGB21XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- WORABank
- GBCountry · United Kingdom
- 21Location · passive
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 213800LXYGUXTTAINM18
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · FCA-EMI
- 1031413
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 504504
- Licence no. · FCA-PSD
- 530923
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- Register-entry ID
- d5be8ad81ec3
- Companies House no.
- 07316500 ↗
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 3 entries on 2 registers
- Activities
- Payment services
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- United Kingdom
- Website (register)
- www.worldpay.com ↗
- Country · region
- United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
The Worldpay Limited group has 3 institutions in the directory, in 3 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 2 do not.
Including Worldpay (HK) Limited, Worldpay PTY LTD.
See the Worldpay Limited group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Persons with significant control
Companies House · company 07316500 ↗ · as at 9 October 2026
Companies House lists 1 person with significant control for Worldpay (UK) Limited: 1 company.
| Name | Type | Nature of control | Notified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Worldpay Finance Limited | Company · Companies Act 2006 | 75–100% of shares | 6 April 2016 |
Companies report persons with significant control to Companies House. Elucidate has not verified them.
A person with significant control holds more than 25% of the shares or votes, can appoint or remove the board, or has significant influence or control. Dates of birth and addresses are not shown.
Matched on the Companies House number that the FCA register gives for this firm.
See the register at Companies House ↗Addresses
- Registered address
- THE WALBROOK BUILDING 25 WALBROOK LONDON EC4N 8AF UNITED KINGDOM
- Operational address
- 25 WALBROOK LONDON LONDON EC4N 8AF UNITED KINGDOM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>WORAGB21XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800LXYGUXTTAINM18</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>WORAGB21XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800LXYGUXTTAINM18</LEI>
<Nm>WORLDPAY LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>GB</Ctry>
<AdrLine>THE WALBROOK BUILDING 25 WALBROOK LONDON EC4N 8AF</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Worldpay Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Persons with significant control—Companies House · source ↗ as at 9 October 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: worldpay.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo