
Romania · Financial institution
Brd - Groupe Societe Generale SA
BRD - Groupe Société Générale is a joint stock company incorporated in Romania. Its head office and registered office are in Bucharest. Société Générale S.A. is its immediate and ultimate controlling shareholder, and the remaining shares are free float on the Bucharest Stock Exchange, where the bank has been listed since 15 January 2001. The bank began operating in 1990 as a state-owned credit institution, taking over the assets and liabilities of the former Banca de Investitii. It was renamed after Société Générale acquired Banca Română pentru Dezvoltare from the Romanian state in 1999. It offers retail, corporate and investment banking services in Romania and has leasing and asset management subsidiaries.
Licences and registrations
Matched by LEI on the 22 tracked registers
None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registers.
- The tracked registers cover payment, e-money, crypto and money-service firms in 37 countries. Bank licences from national supervisors are not tracked.
Regulatory status
FSB · global systemically important banks
2025 list
- G-SIB
- Société Générale
- Relation
- In a G-SIB groupGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.
- Bucket
- 1 of 5 · extra capital buffer 1.0% of risk-weighted assets
- On the list since
- 2011
European registers
ECB · monetary financial institutions
List as at 2026-09-25
- Category
- Credit institution
- Minimum reserves
- Not on the ECB reserve list
- Listed as
- BRD - Groupe Societe Generale S.A.
- RIAD code
- RORBPJR40007
ESMA · MiFID II register
Register as at 2026-09-28
| Entry | Competent authority | Authorised | Services or instruments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Systematic internaliser | National Bank of Romania (BNR) | 2018-11-26 | BOND |
Service codes follow MiFID II Annex I: A for investment services, B for ancillary services. Hover a code for its meaning.
Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- BRDEROBUXXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Connected to SwiftThis BIC is registered as a live address on the Swift network. The institution sends and receives Swift messages under BRDEROBU directly.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · ReGIS
- Branch codes
- 2 branch codes
- BIC first registered
- 1992-09-07
- Last updated
- 2022-02-14
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Ticker BRD
Institution type
Universal bank
Trades as BRD
- Ownership
- Société Générale S.A. holds 60.17% and the remaining 39.83% is free float on the Bucharest Stock Exchange.
- Direct parent
- Société Générale S.A., France 60.17%
- Stock listing
- Bucharest Stock Exchange BRD
- Head office
- Bd. Ion Mihalache nr. 1-7, Sector 1, 011171 Bucharest, Romania
- Name in the local language
- BRD - Groupe Société Générale S.A.
- Former name
- Banca Română pentru Dezvoltare
Business lines
The bank serves individuals, professionals, SMEs and large corporates in Romania. It also offers custody, brokerage and treasury services, and its subsidiaries provide leasing and asset management.
Online
- Websites & references
- brd.ro ↗
mybrdnet.ro ↗ MyBRD Net internet banking (linked from brd.ro)
you.brd.ro ↗ YOU BRD digital banking (linked from brd.ro)
Wikipedia ↗
Wikidata Q796927 ↗ - Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 11 pages consulted
- brd.ro
- brd.ro/en/about-brd/about-us/about-brd/management
- brd.ro/_files/pdf/LISTA%20BANCI%20CORESPONDENTE.pdf
- m.bvb.ro/FinancialInstruments/SelectedData/NewsItem/BRD-Raport-semestrial-S1-2026/F1403
- marketscreener.com/news/brd-groupe-societe-generale-s-a-consolidated-financial-statements-as-at-june-30-2026
- capital.ro/1695088.html
- bankingnews.ro/brd-decizie-motivata-amenda-robor.html
- forbes.ro/brd-reactioneaza-la-sanctiunea-consiliului-concurentei-conduita-noastra-a-fost-pe-deplin-
- thediplomat.ro/2023/11/22/maria-rousseva-appointed-as-ceo-of-brd/
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BRD_%E2%80%93_Groupe_Soci%C3%A9t%C3%A9_G%C3%A9n%C3%A9rale
- simplywall.st/stocks/ro/banks/bvb-brd/brd-groupe-societe-generale-shares/management
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Maria Rousseva Chief Executive Officer
- Chair
- Cecile Bartenieff Dansaert President of the Board of Directors
- Executive
- Vladimir Pojer Deputy Chief Executive Officer
- Executive
- Simona Prodan Finance Executive Director
- Executive
- Jean Philippe Talec Deputy CEO
Supervisors & regulators
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Romania
- National Bank of Romania Central bankPrudential supervisorAML supervisorResolution
- Romania
- Financial Supervisory Authority (ASF) Securities
Recent events 2 enforcement or investigation items
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Enforcement
The Competition Council sent the bank its reasoned ROBOR decision on 28 September 2026. The bank said it would challenge the decision in court.
bankingnews.ro ↗ -
Enforcement
The Romanian Competition Council fined the bank RON 412.47 million for coordinating behaviour in the ROBOR fixing procedure, one of ten banks fined.
capital.ro ↗ -
Leadership
Cecile Bartenieff Dansaert took office as chair of the Board of Directors on 1 March 2026.
simplywall.st ↗ -
Leadership
The National Bank of Romania approved Maria Rousseva as CEO for a four-year term, after François Bloch stepped down.
thediplomat.ro ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, incidents, leadership changes, mergers and licence changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- BRDEROBUXXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- BRDEBank
- ROCountry · Romania
- BULocation
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 5493008QRHH0XCLJ4238
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
- National bank code
- ReGIS participant (IBAN bank code) BRDE
Profile
- Type
- Financial institutionClassified as a financial institution in Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, with no licence on a tracked register. This includes banks that neither the ECB nor the FSB lists, as well as brokers, fund managers, insurers and market infrastructure.
- Regulation
- Not on a tracked registerNo licence or registration was found for this entity on the registers the directory tracks, or on the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks are licensed by national supervisors whose registers are not tracked yet. This does not mean that the institution is unregulated.
- Register licences
- None matched by LEI in the 22 tracked registersThe tracked registers cover payment, e-money, crypto and money-service firms in 37 countries. Bank licences from national supervisors are not tracked.
- Country · region
- Romania · Europe & Central Asia
- FSB G-SIB list
- In a G-SIB group · Société Générale list of 2025
- Trading venues (MIC)
- Operates 3 MICs list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
- Founded
- 1923
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
No licence or registration was found for this entity on the 22 registers the directory tracks, or on the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks are licensed by national supervisors whose registers are not tracked yet. This does not mean that the institution is unregulated.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Societe Generale · FranceO2RNE8IBXP4R0TD8PU41 ↗
- FSB G-SIB list
- In a G-SIB group · Société Générale bucket 1 · 2025 listGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.
The Societe Generale group has 86 institutions in the directory, in 39 countries: 82 hold a BIC and 4 do not.
Including Societe Generale, Societe Generale Luxembourg, Societe Generale, Societe Generale Sfh, Boursorama.
See the Societe Generale group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- ION MIHALACHE BOULEVARD 1-7 TURN BRD BUCHAREST 011171 ROMANIA
- Operational address
- ION MIHALACHE BOULEVARD 1-7 1. DISTRICT BUCHAREST 011171 BUCHAREST ROMANIA
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BRDEROBUXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>5493008QRHH0XCLJ4238</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>BRDEROBUXXX</BICFI>
<LEI>5493008QRHH0XCLJ4238</LEI>
<Nm>BRD - GROUPE SOCIETE GENERALE SA</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>BUCHAREST</TwnNm>
<Ctry>RO</Ctry>
<AdrLine>ION MIHALACHE BOULEVARD 1-7 TURN BRD BUCHAREST 011171</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28 · BNR ReGIS list
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2008-03-03 | Head office | — |
| ReGIS (Romanian leu real-time gross settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.
The BNR ReGIS list gives no joining date.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Market identifiers
3 trading venues and reporting services run under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| BRDE | BRD - GROUPE SOCIETE GENERALE S.A. | Operating MIC | Not specified |
| BRDL | BRD - GROUPE SOCIETE GENERALE S.A. - LIQUIDITY PROVIDER | Segment of BRDE | Not specified |
| BRDS | BRD - GROUPE SOCIETE GENERALE S.A. - SYSTEMATIC INTERNALISER | Segment of BRDE | Systematic internaliser |
National bank codes
ReGIS participant (IBAN bank code) · Romania
1 code
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file |
|---|---|---|
| BRDE | BRDEROBUXXX | BRD - Groupe Societe Generale S.A. |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Network
Branches and correspondent banking
All 2 branch BICs connect to the head office. They are all in Bucharest, and no function or registration year splits them further. The bank publishes 18 accounts at other banks, across 3 regions. 4 other banks publish 4 accounts held with this bank.
- Own offices
- Correspondent banks: it holds accounts there
- Respondent banks: they hold accounts here
Hover over a branch, account or group to see its details
Correspondent accounts
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
18 accounts at other banks, in 15 currencies, for cash clearing, all types of transactions, as the bank publishes them: brd.ro ↗ dated 21 Jan 2019
| Currency | Correspondent | BIC | Account | Directory check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUD | Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Sydney Australia | CTBAAU2S | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| BGN | SG Expressbank AD, Varna, Bulgaria Bulgaria | TTBBBG22 | — | Not in the Swift directory |
| CAD | Toronto Dominion Bank, Toronto Canada | TDOMCATT | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| CHF | Credit Suisse SA, Zurich Switzerland | CRESCHZZ80A | — | Directory name differs UBS SWITZERLAND AG |
| DKK | Nordea Bank Danmark A/S, Copenhagen Denmark | NDEADKKK | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| EUR | SOCIETE GENERALE, Paris France | SOGEFRPP | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| EUR | Deutsche Bank AG, Frankfurt/ Main Germany | DEUTDEFF | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| EUR | Commerzbank AG, Frankfurt/Main Germany | COBADEFF | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| PLN | Société Générale Spolka Akcyjna, Warsaw Poland | SOGEPLPW | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| CZK | Komercni Banka AS, Prague Czechia | KOMBCZPP | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| GBP | BARCLAYS BANK PLC United Kingdom | BARCGB22 | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| JPY | Mizuho Corporate Bank Ltd., Tokyo Japan | MHCBJPJT | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| MDL | BC Mobiasbanca-Groupe Societe Generale, Moldova Moldova | MOBBMD22 | — | Directory name differs OTP BANK S.A. |
| NOK | Nordea Bank Norge ASA, Oslo Norway | NDEANOKK | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| SEK | Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken AB, Stockholm Sweden | ESSESESS | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| HUF | K&H Bank Zrt, Budapest Hungary | OKHBHUHB | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| USD | Société Générale, New York United States | SOGEUS33 | — | Matches the Swift directory |
| USD | Wells Fargo Bank NA, USA United States | PNBPUS3NNYC | — | Matches the Swift directory |
PDF titled 'List of BRD nostro accounts' covering cash clearing accounts for all types of transactions. All 19 rows were extracted. The list gives no account numbers. It is dated 21 January 2019 and may be stale: some names shown, such as SG Expressbank, Credit Suisse and Mizuho Corporate Bank, have since changed. Confirm with BRD before use. Each correspondent BIC is checked against the Swift directory: a BIC missing from it, or registered to a differently named bank, may be a typo or out of date. Confirm settlement instructions with the bank before relying on them.
Respondent banks
From the correspondent lists other banks publish
4 other banks publish 4 accounts held with this bank.
| Currency | Respondent bank | Held at | Account | Purpose | Published in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RON | Bank of Cyprus Public Company Limited Cyprus | BRDEROBUXXX | — | — | bankofcyprus.com ↗ dated Jul 2026 |
| RON | National Bank of Greece SA Greece | BRDEROBU | — | — | nbg.gr ↗ |
| RON | U.S. Bank National Association United States | BRDEROBU | RO53BRDE427SV00631664270 | FX settlement | usbank.com ↗ |
| RON | Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. United States | BRDEROBU | RO91BRDE427SV00471824270 | FX settlement | www08.wellsfargomedia.com ↗ dated May 2024 |
Each row is an account the respondent bank lists as held with this bank, as published. Only banks that publish their correspondent accounts, and that Elucidate has researched, can appear, so the list is not complete. Confirm settlement instructions with either bank before relying on them.
Branch codes
| BIC | Branch | City | Address | LEI | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BRDEROBUCAM | CAMPINEANU BRANCH | Bucharest | UNION BUILDING CAMPINEANU STREET 11 BUCHAREST BUCHAREST ROMANIA | 5493008QRHH0XCLJ4238 | 2018-03-27 |
| BRDEROBUTIT | SECURITIES DIVISION | Bucharest | BUCHAREST BUCHAREST ROMANIA | 5493008QRHH0XCLJ4238 | 2018-03-27 |
Claim this profile
Work at Brd - Groupe Societe Generale SA?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: Banca Națională a României, list of ReGIS participants.
- Wikidata—CC0, matched on the BIC or LEI recorded in Wikidata. It is community-edited, so check key facts.
- National bank codes—Romania (Source: Banca Națională a României).
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, leadership, regulators and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the institution's own website and reports, regulators, company registers and news. Figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Source: European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), MiFID II/MiFIR register (investment firms, trading venues, systematic internalisers, data reporting services providers). Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: ImADoriann · Public domain · Wikimedia Commons · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo