Italy · Payments & e-money
Telepass S.P.A.
Telepass S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company (società per azioni) based in Rome. The Bank of Italy authorises it as a hybrid electronic money institution, entered as no. 25 in the register kept under article 114-quater of the Italian Banking Act. It provides its payment and e-money services through a ring-fenced "patrimonio destinato IMEL". Mundys S.p.A. owns 51% of the firm and funds managed by Partners Group own 49%. The firm offers electronic motorway toll payment in Italy and several other European countries. It also offers app-based payments for mobility services, and e-money accounts with prepaid Mastercard cards, to consumers and businesses. The group's former e-money institution, Telepass Pay S.p.A., merged into the firm in April 2022.
Licences and registrations
Held by Telepass S.P.A. (LEI 81560026F8FA05B01604). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of ItalyLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 09771701001 | Italy | Active | 2022-05-01 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
European registers
ECB · monetary financial institutions
List as at 2026-09-25
- Category
- Other monetary financial institution
- Minimum reserves
- Not on the ECB reserve list
- Listed as
- TELEPASS S.P.A.
- RIAD code
- IT0003042686420
Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- TEAYITR1XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of TEAYITR1 marks a passive participant.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · VOP
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2017-10-09
- Last updated
- 2022-05-10
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
51% Mundys S.p.A.
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as Telepass
- Ownership
- Mundys S.p.A. holds 51% of the firm and Partners Group holds 49%, a stake it bought from Mundys (then Atlantia) in April 2021. Edizione S.p.A. is the ultimate parent in the firm's LEI record.
- Direct parent
- Mundys S.p.A., Italy 51%
- Ultimate owner
- Edizione S.p.A., Italy
- Major shareholder
- Partners Group (managed funds) 49%
- Head office
- Via Laurentina, 449, 00142 Roma, Italy
- Company register
- Registro delle Imprese di Roma 09771701001 (REA RM-1188554)
Online
- Websites & references
- telepass.com ↗
- Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- telepass.com/en/consumer/support/forms-contracts/telepass-family
- assets.ctfassets.net/4plydxkcrqt2/3xh8p4xNMQevrhNkxR74nr/2cbb36093647329869d89837ef736eea/N._22_-_FI_TELEPASS_
- assets.ctfassets.net/4plydxkcrqt2/6MOfTGljUGhrT6GhaXYpQN/426cec8f425ae5932e99c15c74c24f1a/15E._Precont_Fam_DIR
- assets.ctfassets.net/4plydxkcrqt2/5HuzMTr5kebOuKfLLeOOLz/f2645f81c33275e96bad100a591e7895/Telepass_Business_Pr
- telepass.com/en/group
- telepass.com/en/group/about-us/governance
- telepass.com/en/group/about-us/management
- telepass.com/en/group/news-events/telepass-supera-10-milioni-obu-consolida-crescita
- mundys.com/en/sustainable-mobility/our-businesses/mobility-services/telepass-s-p-a
- assets.ctfassets.net/4plydxkcrqt2/3oiLG8WTHuP0JoTmxAOUGK/2df896a3e313df696ed3a1879c54ae4f/TLP_Report_di_sosten
- ilgiornale.it/news/aziende/mundys-tiene-telepass-vendita-pu-attendere-2646264.html
- en.ilsole24ore.com/art/telepass-apg-infravia-run-35-billion-AImfRkFC
- swissinfo.ch/eng/partners-group-said-to-weigh-options-for-telepass-stake-in-italy/89173781
- milanofinanza.it/news/telepass-supera-i-10-milioni-di-clienti-e-fa-89-milioni-di-profitti-81-nel-2025-a-mu
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as a hybrid electronic money institution, entered as no. 25 in the register of electronic money institutions. It provides payment and e-money services through a ring-fenced "patrimonio destinato IMEL". The Telepass Pay X offer is sold jointly with BNL and runs on the customer's BNL account.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Italy (Banca d'Italia) Italy | Istituto di Moneta Elettronica (hybrid), Albo under art. 114-quater D.lgs. 385/1993 | 25 | In its own name | Active | assets.ctfassets.net ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm states that it provides its payment and e-money services through a ring-fenced "patrimonio destinato IMEL" authorised by the Bank of Italy. The documents reviewed do not describe the safeguarding accounts or the banks that hold them.
- Deposit-holding bank
- BNL (Banca Nazionale del Lavoro) Italy
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Mastercard Access not stated assets.ctfassets.net ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated assets.ctfassets.net ↗
pagoPA Access not stated assets.ctfassets.net ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The core product is a leased on-board device that pays motorway tolls in Italy, and in France, Spain, Portugal and Croatia with the European service. The app also pays for parking, fuel, EV charging, public transport, road tax and pagoPA bills. Business customers can hold e-money accounts with an IBAN and prepaid Mastercard cards.
The firm serves customers mainly in Italy. Its European toll service covers France, Spain, Portugal and Croatia, and press reports say its tolling network reached a 19th country, the Netherlands, in early 2026.
- Revenue
- EUR 506m
- Sells to
- Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- Serves customers in 5 countries
- Italy · France · Spain · Portugal · Croatia
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
-
Luca Luciani
Chief Executive Officer and General Manager
- Chair
- Andrea Mangoni President of the Board of Directors
- Chief financial officer
-
Luca Daniele
Chief Financial Officer; General Manager, Head of Telepass Assets
- Compliance / MLRO
-
Valentina Speranza
Chief of Compliance
- Executive
-
Stefano Salerno
General Manager Segregated Assets (General Manager of Payment Services, responsible for e-money, acquiring and KYC/AML processes)
- Executive
-
Michele Variale
Chief Internal Auditor & Risk Officer
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Press reports said Mundys and Partners Group had decided to keep their stakes after receiving non-binding offers for the firm.
ilgiornale.it ↗ -
Other
Mundys and Partners Group began a joint sale process for 100% of the firm, advised by Mediobanca and UBS, according to press reports.
en.ilsole24ore.com ↗ -
Other
Bloomberg reported that Partners Group was exploring options for its 49% stake in the firm.
swissinfo.ch ↗ -
Leadership
Luca Luciani became Chief Executive Officer and General Manager of the firm.
telepass.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- TEAYITR1XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- TEAYBank
- ITCountry · Italy
- R1Location · passive
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 81560026F8FA05B01604
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 09771701001
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- c50048fd648d
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Italy
- Country · region
- Italy · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Mundys SPA · Italy8156008DEC771409C487 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Edizione SPA · Italy8156005BA491A7087C07 ↗
The Edizione SPA group has 5 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: all hold a BIC.
Including Abertis Infraestructuras, SA, Aeroporti di Roma SPA, Autostrade SPA, Benetton Group S.R.L..
See the Edizione SPA group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- VIA LAURENTINA 449 ROMA 00142 ITALY
- Operational address
- VIA LAURENTINA 449 ROMA 00142 ROMA ITALY
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>TEAYITR1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>81560026F8FA05B01604</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>TEAYITR1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>81560026F8FA05B01604</LEI>
<Nm>TELEPASS S.P.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>ROMA</TwnNm>
<Ctry>IT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>VIA LAURENTINA 449 ROMA 00142</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2018-06-04 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2026-07-31 | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Claim this profile
Work at Telepass S.P.A.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: telepass.com (official website) · original; Luca Luciani: telepass.com (official website) · original; Luca Daniele: telepass.com (official website) · original; Valentina Speranza: telepass.com (official website) · original; Stefano Salerno: telepass.com (official website) · original; Michele Variale: telepass.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo