Italy · Payments & e-money
Unipolpay S.P.A.
UnipolPay S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company with its seat in Bologna. The Bank of Italy authorises it as an electronic money institution, at number 23 in its register of e-money institutions. It has a single shareholder, Unipol Assicurazioni S.p.A., which also directs and coordinates it. It provides payment accounts, SEPA payments and a payment gateway to merchants and partners of the Unipol Group. Its consumer app, memi, stopped taking new customers on 15 July 2025.
Licences and registrations
Held by Unipolpay S.P.A. (LEI 8156008C81E431B3E772). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of ItalyLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 03961561200 | Italy | Active | 2021-07-05 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
European registers
ECB · monetary financial institutions
List as at 2026-09-25
- Category
- Other monetary financial institution
- Minimum reserves
- Not on the ECB reserve list
- Listed as
- UNIPOLPAY S.P.A.
- RIAD code
- IT0005207681448
Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- UNPLIT22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of UNPLIT22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SDD Core · SDD B2B · VOP
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2021-09-04
- Last updated
- 2026-04-15
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% Unipol Assicurazioni S.p.A.
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as UnipolPay
- Standing
- UnipolPay stopped accepting new registrations, accounts and physical cards for its consumer app memi on 15 July 2025. Its business accounts and payment gateway services are still offered.
- Ownership
- Unipol Assicurazioni S.p.A. is the firm's sole shareholder and directs and coordinates it.
- Direct parent
- Unipol Assicurazioni S.p.A., Italy 100%
- Head office
- Via Stalingrado 37, 40128 Bologna, Italy
- Company register
- Registro delle Imprese di Bologna 03961561200
Online
- Websites & references
- unipolpay.it ↗
memi.it ↗ site of memi, the firm's consumer account brand (closed to new customers since 15 July 2025) - Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 12 pages consulted
- unipolpay.it/
- unipolpay.it/wp-content/uploads/sites/1/2025/12/Foglio-Informativo-Conto-partner-v4_09.10.2025.pdf
- memi.it/
- memi.it/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2024/12/Foglio-Informativo-maxi-memi-V6.pdf
- memi.it/argomenti/registrazione-e-profilo/
- memi.it/faq/come-vengono-tutelati-i-miei-fondi/
- unipol.it/en/unipolpay
- unipol.com/sites/default/files/documents/2025-06/cda_ua_consiglieri_laterza.pdf
- icgn.org/matteo-laterza
- arenadigitale.it/2026/01/22/nasce-losservatorio-luiss-apsp-sui-pagamenti-digitali/
- arenadigitale.it/2025/02/25/francesco-maldari-unipolpay-e-matteo-miconi-numia-entrano-nel-consiglio-apsp/
- play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=it.unipolpay.memi.prod&hl=en_US
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under article 114-quater of the Consolidated Banking Act (TUB). It is entered at number 23 in the Bank of Italy's register of e-money institutions.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Italy (Banca d'Italia) Italy | Electronic money institution entered in the Register of Electronic Money Institutions (art. 114-quater TUB); ABI code 36960.3 | 23 | In its own name | Active | unipolpay.it ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm says it protects customers' funds as an e-money institution under article 114-quinquies.1 of the Consolidated Banking Act (TUB) and the Bank of Italy's rules, and holds them apart from its own assets at a depositary bank.
- Card issuer
- PECUNIA CARDS EDE S.L.U. Spain
- Payment schemes and card networks
- SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated unipolpay.it ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated memi.it ↗
CBI Globe (PSD2 access gateway) Direct unipolpay.it ↗
Mastercard Through a partner play.google.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It offers payment accounts in euro, SEPA credit transfers and a payment gateway to businesses that partner with Unipol Group companies, and a consumer account (memi) that is now closed to new customers.
It says it is authorised to provide payment and e-money services in Italy.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Consumers
- Serves customers in
- Italy
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Francesco Maldari CEO
- Chair
- Matteo Laterza Chairman (Presidente)
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
UnipolPay stopped accepting new registrations, accounts and physical card requests for its consumer app memi from 15 July 2025.
memi.it ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- UNPLIT22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- UNPLBank
- ITCountry · Italy
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 8156008C81E431B3E772
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 03961561200
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 83a54c25cab6
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Italy
- Country · region
- Italy · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Unipol Assicurazioni S.P.A. · Italy8156005CE5E7340CCA86 ↗
The Unipol Assicurazioni S.P.A. group has 3 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: all hold a BIC.
Including Arca Vita S.P.A., Unipol Gruppo S.P.A..
See the Unipol Assicurazioni S.P.A. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 37, VIA STALINGRADO BOLOGNA 40128 ITALY
- Operational address
- VIA STALINGRADO 37 BOLOGNA 40128 BOLOGNA ITALY
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>UNPLIT22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>8156008C81E431B3E772</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>UNPLIT22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>8156008C81E431B3E772</LEI>
<Nm>UNIPOLPAY S.P.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>BOLOGNA</TwnNm>
<Ctry>IT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>37, VIA STALINGRADO BOLOGNA 40128</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2021-10-04 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages | 2021-10-04 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages | 2021-10-04 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-10-05 | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Claim this profile
Work at Unipolpay S.P.A.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: unipolpay.it (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo