Italy · Payments & e-money

Fnmpay S.p.a.

FNMPAY S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company based in Milan. The Banca d'Italia authorises it as a payment institution (register no. 105). It holds its own licence to acquire and issue payment instruments. FNM S.p.A., the Lombardy transport group whose majority shareholder is Regione Lombardia, owns all of its shares and directs and coordinates it. The firm offers card acquiring through physical and virtual POS, the supply of POS terminals and a gateway for EMV contactless transit payments. It serves mainly the mobility and transport sector, starting with FNM group companies. According to the group, it began operating in early 2024.

Licences and registrations

Held by Fnmpay S.p.a. (LEI 815600937315F13A5F73). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of Italy Payment institutionPayment Institution 11424410964 Italy Active 2021-12-21 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% FNM S.p.A.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as FNMPAY

Ownership
FNM S.p.A. owns 100% of the firm as its sole shareholder, and Regione Lombardia holds 57.57% of FNM S.p.A.
Direct parent
FNM S.p.A., Italy 100%
Ultimate owner
Regione Lombardia, Italy
Head office
Piazzale Cadorna, 14, 20123 Milano, Italy
Company register
Registro delle Imprese di Milano Monza Brianza Lodi 11424410964 (REA MI 2601707)
Incorporated
2020

Online

Websites & references
fnmpay.it ↗
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 13 pages consulted
  1. fnmpay.it/profilo-missione/
  2. fnmpay.it/organi-sociali-e-management/
  3. fnmpay.it/i-servizi/
  4. fnmpay.it/trasparenza/
  5. fnmpay.it/documenti-societari/
  6. fnmpay.it/category/comunicati-stampa/
  7. fnmpay.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/FNMPAY-Foglio-Informativo-servizio-di-accettazione-carte-trami
  8. fnmpay.it/2024/02/27/fnmpay-operativa-la-nuova-piattaforma-di-pagamento-del-gruppo-fnm/
  9. fnmgroup.it/2024/02/27/fnmpay-operativa-la-nuova-piattaforma-di-pagamento-del-gruppo-fnm/
  10. fnmgroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/EN_GB-Relazione-finanziaria-semestrale-al-30-giugno-2025_final
  11. varesenews.it/2025/11/fnmpay-il-nuovo-sistema-di-pagamento-digitale-arriva-su-trenord/2405419/
  12. ansa.it/lombardia/notizie/2024/02/27/fnmpay-punta-a-oltre-10-milioni-di-transazioni-entro-lanno_5
  13. it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gruppo_FNM

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Banca d'Italia authorises the firm as a payment institution under article 114-septies of the Italian Banking Act (register no. 105, code 18128). It may acquire and issue payment instruments.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Banca d'Italia Italy Istituto di pagamento (Albo degli Istituti di Pagamento ex art. 114-septies TUB) 105 In its own name Active fnmpay.it ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's published information sheets do not describe how merchants' funds are safeguarded.
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated fnmpay.it ↗
Mastercard Access not stated fnmpay.it ↗
Maestro Access not stated fnmpay.it ↗
V PAY Access not stated fnmpay.it ↗
PagoBancomat Access not stated fnmpay.it ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

It offers card acquiring on physical and virtual POS, the supply and management of POS terminals and a Transit Gateway for EMV contactless transit payments, aimed at the mobility and transport sector.

It serves merchants in Italy, mainly companies of the FNM group such as Trenord, under its Italian payment institution licence.

Sells to
Enterprises · Small businesses
Serves customers in
Italy

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Paolo Zanchi Direttore Generale Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fnmpay.it ↗
Chair
Luigi Piergiuseppe Ferdinando Roth Presidente Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fnmpay.it ↗
Executive
Alessio Zanzottera Vice Presidente Vicario Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · fnmpay.it ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Trenord began to introduce FNMPAY as the payment gateway on its digital channels, including trenord.it, malpensaexpress.it and self-service ticket machines.

    varesenews.it ↗
  2. Other

    FNM Group announced that FNMPAY had started operating as a payment institution for digital payments on physical and virtual channels.

    fnmpay.it ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
11424410964
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
d9cda63a2385

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Italy · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2021-12-21

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Fnm S.P.A. · Italy815600AB6FA8AADC8739 ↗
Ultimate parent
Regione Lombardia · Italy815600FFE23852109066 ↗

The Regione Lombardia group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: 1 holds a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Fnm SPA.

See the Regione Lombardia group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
PIAZZA LUIGI CADORNA, 14, MILANO, 20123
Country
Italy

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>815600937315F13A5F73</LEI>
  <Nm>FNMPAY S.P.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>20123</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>MILANO</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>PIAZZA LUIGI CADORNA, 14</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo