Italy · Payments & e-money
Mooney S.p.a.
Mooney S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company based in Milan. The Bank of Italy authorises it as an electronic money institution, entered as no. 6 in the register of e-money institutions. Its sole shareholder is Mooney Group S.p.A., which Enel X and Isybank (Intesa Sanpaolo group) hold in equal shares. It sells bill and pagoPA payments, SEPA transfers, cash services, phone top-ups and prepaid cards through a network of retail outlets in Italy and through its app. Since 15 April 2024 a Bank of Italy order has barred it from issuing new payment cards and opening the related accounts.
Licences and registrations
Held by Mooney S.p.a. (LEI 815600F590879571B665). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of Italy | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 06529501006 | Italy | Active | 2018-01-14 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% Mooney Group S.p.A.
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as Mooney
- Standing
- On 15 April 2024 the Bank of Italy barred Mooney from issuing new payment cards and opening the related e-money and payment accounts until it has fixed anti-money laundering (AML) deficiencies. In September 2026 the firm's website still said new prepaid cards could not be requested. Cards already issued and the firm's other services keep operating.
- Ownership
- Mooney Group S.p.A. owns 100% of the firm and directs and coordinates it; Enel X and Isybank (Intesa Sanpaolo group) each hold 50% of Mooney Group.
- Direct parent
- Mooney Group S.p.A. ↗, Italy 100%
- Head office
- Via Privata Nino Bonnet 6/A, 20154 Milano, Italy
- Company register
- Registro delle Imprese di Milano Monza Brianza Lodi 06529501006 (REA MI 2572927)
Online
- Websites & references
- mooney.it ↗
mooneygroup.it ↗ group corporate and investor relations site
mymooney.it ↗ retailer portal
mooneygo.it ↗ MooneyGo mobility app site (group)
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
- Apps
- Google Play ↗ · App Store ↗
Sources · 16 pages consulted
- mooney.it/
- mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf
- mooney.it/provvedimento-banca-ditalia-2024
- mooney.it/trasparenza-termini-e-condizioni
- mooneygroup.it/company-details/
- mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/
- mooneygroup.it/our-company/who-we-are/
- mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/20240415_Press-Release-Mooney-order-issued-by-Bank-of-Italy.pd
- mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/20240529_Press-Release-Mooney_Order-issued-by-Italian-Competit
- mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/IR_20250324__Press-Release-Mooney_Order-issued-by-BoI.pdf
- mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/Mooney-Group_-Consolidated-Interim-Financials_6M-2025.pdf
- group.intesasanpaolo.com/en/newsroom/press-releases/2022/07/enel-and-intesa-sanpaolo-jointly-finalized-acquisition
- milanofinanza.it/news/mooney-intesa-sanpaolo-e-enel-rinunciano-al-lock-up-sulle-azioni-e-ca-de-sass-svalut
- milanofinanza.it/news/altra-ispezione-di-bankitalia-in-mooney-focus-sulla-tecnologia-202504220130562830
- milanotoday.it/cronaca/attacco-hacker-mooney-atm.html
- it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mooney_(azienda)
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under Article 114-quater of the Italian Consolidated Banking Act (register no. 6, code 32532). It holds Visa membership as an associate member sponsored by Intesa Sanpaolo, the principal member.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Italy Italy | Electronic money institution (Albo degli Istituti di Moneta Elettronica, art. 114-quater TUB, no. 6) | 32532 | In its own name | Active | mooney.it ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe group's interim accounts report restricted bank deposits holding funds received from customers under PSD2 for the services of Mooney S.p.A. Card balances are not deposits and are not covered by the Italian interbank deposit guarantee fund (FITD).
- Sponsor bank
- Intesa Sanpaolo Italy
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Through a partner mooney.it ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated mooney.it ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated mooney.it ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated mooney.it ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm collects bill, pagoPA, car-tax, F24 and MAV/RAV payments, sends SEPA transfers, sells phone top-ups and offers cash withdrawals and deposits for partner banks' customers at tobacconists, bars and newsagents in Italy. The Carta Mooney is a Visa prepaid card with an IBAN, and no new cards have been issued since April 2024.
It serves customers in Italy through a retail network of about 30,000 points of sale, as it describes it, and through its website and app.
- Sells to
- Consumers · Small businesses · Financial institutions · Public sector
- Serves customers in
- Italy
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Claudio Moro Chief Executive Officer (group management page); CEO since March 2025, board member since May 2024
- Chief financial officer
- Matteo Cariglia Chief Financial Officer
- Compliance / MLRO
- Emanuele Ranghetti Head of Anti Financial Crime, Mooney Group (since April 2024)
- Compliance / MLRO
- Leonardo Limiti Head of Compliance & Anticorruption, Mooney Group (since August 2023)
- Executive
- Marianna Carvelli Head of Risk Management & Information Security, Mooney Group (since October 2025)
- Executive
- Rossella Platini General Counsel, Mooney Group (since January 2026)
Recent events 5 enforcement or investigation items
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The shareholders of Mooney Group, Enel X and Isybank, removed the lock-up on transfers of their stakes from the holding's articles, MF-Milano Finanza reported.
milanofinanza.it ↗ -
Security incident
Sister company Mooney Servizi S.p.A. reported a cyber attack on 5 April 2025 that exposed registration and contact data of MyCicero and ATM Milano app users.
milanotoday.it ↗ -
Investigation
The Bank of Italy began a follow-up inspection of the firm's remedial measures and a prudential inspection, MF-Milano Finanza reported.
milanofinanza.it ↗ -
Enforcement
The Bank of Italy fined the firm EUR 2.5 million for irregularities in its anti-money laundering activities found in inspections from October 2023 to January 2024.
mooneygroup.it ↗ -
Enforcement
The Italian Competition Authority fined Mooney S.p.A. and Mooney Group S.p.A. EUR 2.52 million jointly for unfair commercial practices involving the Card product.
mooneygroup.it ↗ -
Enforcement
The Bank of Italy barred the firm from issuing new payment cards and opening related accounts until it fixed AML deficiencies, and opened sanction proceedings.
mooneygroup.it ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 06529501006
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- 304865c7b5ab
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Italy · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2018-01-14
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Mooney Group S.P.A. · Italy815600A354E81B97D398 ↗
Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- VIA PRIVATA NINO BONNET 6/A, MILANO, 20154
- Country
- Italy
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>815600F590879571B665</LEI>
<Nm>MOONEY S.P.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>20154</PstCd>
<TwnNm>MILANO</TwnNm>
<Ctry>IT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>VIA PRIVATA NINO BONNET 6/A</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo