Italy · Payments & e-money

Postepay S.P.A.

PostePay S.p.A. is a joint-stock company based in Rome. The Bank of Italy authorises it as an electronic money institution (Albo IMEL no. 19), and it runs this business through a ring-fenced IMEL estate. Poste Italiane S.p.A. owns all its shares and directs and coordinates it. The firm issues Postepay prepaid and debit cards and provides merchant acquiring and collection services in Italy, and it also sells PosteMobile telecoms and Poste Energia services. It was formed on 1 October 2018, when PosteMobile S.p.A. became an e-money institution and was renamed, and a demerger of its e-money business to Poste Italiane is due to take effect on 1 January 2027.

BICPPAYITR1XXX LEI81560006CC40E9A86833 Licence no.06874351007 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of PPAYITR1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Group: Poste Italiane - Societa' Per Azioni Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Postepay S.P.A. (LEI 81560006CC40E9A86833). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of ItalyLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 06874351007 Italy Active 2018-09-26 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ECB · monetary financial institutions

List as at 2026-09-25

Category
Other monetary financial institution
Minimum reserves
Not on the ECB reserve list
Listed as
POSTEPAY S.P.A.
RIAD code
IT0002178852684

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
PPAYITR1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of PPAYITR1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2018-07-07
Last updated
2018-10-20

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

424

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Poste Italiane S.p.A.

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Postepay

Standing
In July 2026 the shareholders of PostePay and Poste Italiane approved a partial demerger of PostePay's e-money business (Patrimonio destinato IMEL) to Poste Italiane's BancoPosta ring-fenced capital. The Bank of Italy authorised the transaction, which is scheduled to take effect on 1 January 2027.
Ownership
Poste Italiane S.p.A. holds all 7,561,191 shares and exercises direction and coordination over the firm.
Direct parent
Poste Italiane S.p.A., Italy 100%
Head office
Viale Europa, 190, 00144 Roma, Italy
Company register
Registro Imprese di Roma, REA 995573 (codice fiscale / partita IVA 06874351007)
Former name
PosteMobile S.p.A.

Online

Websites & references
postepay.poste.it ↗
poste.it ↗ Poste Italiane retail site, through which Postepay products are sold and documented
postemobile.it ↗ PosteMobile telecoms site (linked from the footer)
Wikipedia ↗
Official social accounts
Facebook ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. media.poste.it/70314047-967c-4088-8240-9a4aa69598b5/file/RFA-Postepay-31-dicembre-2025
  2. poste.it/resources/bancoposta/pdf/trasparenza/FI_SCT_PP.pdf
  3. poste.it/resources/bancoposta/pdf/trasparenza/FI_FABP_CNP.pdf
  4. poste.it/resources/bancoposta/pdf/trasparenza/FI_CBP_BLINK.pdf
  5. postepay.poste.it/chi-siamo
  6. postepay.poste.it/
  7. posteitaliane.it/it/comunicati/posteitalianeappr-1476646729735.html
  8. borsaitaliana.it/borsa/notizie/teleborsa/finanza/poste-italiane-assemblea-straordinaria-approva-scissione-
  9. ilsole24ore.com/radiocor/nRC_18.06.2026_18.39_64210642
  10. emarketstorage.it/sites/default/files/comunicati/2026-06/20260619_185988.pdf
  11. ansa.it/sito/notizie/topnews/2026/04/20/garante-privacy-sanziona-poste-italiane-e-postepay-per-ol
  12. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Postepay

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as an electronic money institution, and it runs its payment and e-money activities through a ring-fenced estate (Patrimonio destinato IMEL). Poste Italiane – Patrimonio BancoPosta distributes its products under a placement agreement.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Bank of Italy Italy Istituto di moneta elettronica (Albo IMEL), Patrimonio destinato IMEL 19 In its own name Active poste.it ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds received for e-money and payment services are held on dedicated, non-disposable current accounts, mainly at Poste Italiane's BancoPosta, within its ring-fenced IMEL estate.media.poste.it ↗
Safeguarding bank · Partner
Poste Italiane S.p.A. – Patrimonio BancoPosta Italy media.poste.it ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated poste.it ↗
Mastercard Access not stated poste.it ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated media.poste.it ↗
pagoPA Access not stated media.poste.it ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Prepaid cards
  • Debit cards
  • E-money wallet
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • Domestic payments
  • Bill payments
  • International money transfer
  • Mobile top-up

It issues Postepay prepaid and debit cards and offers merchant acquiring, pagoPA and F23/F24 collections, and international transfers via Western Union and MoneyGram.

It serves customers in Italy, mainly through Poste Italiane's post office network and its digital channels.

Revenue
EUR 2.28bnThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗
Payment volume
EUR 94.7bntotal transaction value of payment cards (transato complessivo delle carte di pagamento)This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises · Public sector
Serves customers in
Italy

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Marco Siracusano Amministratore Delegato (Chief Executive Officer) Confirmed 26 Mar 2026 · media.poste.it ↗
Chair
Paolo Martella Presidente del Consiglio di Amministrazione (Chair) Confirmed 26 Mar 2026 · media.poste.it ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    The shareholders' meetings of PostePay and Poste Italiane approved the partial demerger of PostePay's IMEL estate to Poste Italiane, effective from 1 January 2027.

    borsaitaliana.it ↗
  2. Licence

    The Bank of Italy authorised the partial demerger of PostePay's e-money business to Poste Italiane's BancoPosta ring-fenced capital.

    ilsole24ore.com ↗
  3. Enforcement

    The Italian data protection authority fined PostePay EUR 5,877,000 over device-data processing by the Postepay Android app's anti-fraud system.

    ansa.it ↗
  4. Other

    The boards of PostePay and Poste Italiane approved a plan to demerge PostePay's IMEL estate to Poste Italiane within a new financial division.

    posteitaliane.it ↗
  5. Other

    The Bank of Italy notified PostePay of its supervisory review results, citing attention areas in fraud controls, ICT risk and DORA implementation.

    media.poste.it ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
PPAYITR1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. PPAYBank
  2. ITCountry · Italy
  3. R1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
81560006CC40E9A86833
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
06874351007
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
8b53094c2f08

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Italy
Country · region
Italy · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

The Poste Italiane - Societa' Per Azioni group has 6 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: all hold a BIC.

Including Lis Pay S.P.A., Bancoposta Fondi Sgr, Net Insurance SPA, Poste Italiane SPA, Sourcesense S.P.A..

See the Poste Italiane - Societa' Per Azioni group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
VIALE EUROPA 190 ROMA 00144 ITALY
Operational address
VIALE EUROPA 190 ROMA 00144 ROMA ITALY

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>PPAYITR1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>81560006CC40E9A86833</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>PPAYITR1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>81560006CC40E9A86833</LEI>
  <Nm>POSTEPAY S.P.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>ROMA</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>VIALE EUROPA 190 ROMA 00144</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2018-10-01 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2020-11-02 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages 2018-10-01 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages 2018-10-01 Head office —
Verification of Payee 2025-10-05 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

Claim this profile

Work at Postepay S.P.A.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: postepay.poste.it (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo