Italy · Payments & e-money

Lis Pay S.P.A.

LIS Pay S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company based in Milan. The Bank of Italy authorises it as an electronic money institution, and it is entered as no. 1 in the register of e-money institutions. PostePay S.p.A. is its sole shareholder, and the firm is subject to the direction and coordination of Poste Italiane S.p.A. It collects bill, pagoPA and other payments, executes credit transfers and provides cash withdrawals at affiliated PuntoLis retailers, and offers card acquiring to merchants. It was named CartaLIS IMEL S.p.A. until April 2021. It passed from International Game Technology to the Poste Italiane group in 2022.

BICCIMTITR1XXX LEI81560066AB50EC35AB11 Licence no.08658331007 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of CIMTITR1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Group: Poste Italiane - Societa' Per Azioni Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Lis Pay S.P.A. (LEI 81560066AB50EC35AB11). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of ItalyLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 08658331007 Italy Active 2018-01-14 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ECB · monetary financial institutions

List as at 2026-09-25

Category
Other monetary financial institution
Minimum reserves
Not on the ECB reserve list
Listed as
LIS PAY SPA
RIAD code
IT0002456871571

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
CIMTITR1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of CIMTITR1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2006-06-03
Last updated
2023-10-15

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% PostePay S.p.A.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as LIS Pay

Standing
Poste Italiane and PostePay shareholders approved a partial demerger of PostePay on 23 July 2026. Under the demerger, the holding in LIS Pay passes to Poste Italiane's BancoPosta ring-fenced capital. The change is due to take effect on 1 January 2027.
Ownership
PostePay S.p.A. owns 100% of the firm, and Poste Italiane S.p.A. owns 100% of PostePay.
Direct parent
PostePay S.p.A., Italy 100%
Ultimate owner
Poste Italiane S.p.A., Italy
Head office
Via Roberto Bracco, 6, 20159 Milano, Italy
Company register
Registro delle Imprese di Milano 08658331007 (REA MI 2566220)
Former name
CartaLIS Istituto di Moneta Elettronica S.p.A. (CartaLIS IMEL S.p.A.)

Online

Websites & references
lispay.it ↗ could not be checked
lispaypos.it ↗ merchant acquiring and POS site (LIS Pay Pos)
puntolis.it ↗ PuntoLis network site shared with LIS Holding S.p.A., carrying LIS Pay's transparency pages
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. puntolis.it/it/trasparenza
  2. puntolis.it/it/chi-siamo/struttura-societaria
  3. lispaypos.it/lpp/chi-siamo.html
  4. lispaypos.it/lpp/doc/pdf/Foglio%20Informativo%20Acquiring.pdf
  5. rivenditori.puntolis.it/content/dam/portale-b2b/it/contenuti/documenti/trasparenza/public/LIS-Foglio-Info-Bonific
  6. rivenditori.puntolis.it/content/dam/portale-b2b/it/contenuti/documenti/trasparenza/public/LIS-Foglio-Informativo-
  7. rivenditori.puntolis.it/content/dam/lottomatica/public/pdf/trasparenza/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_prepagata_LIS_Pay
  8. posteitaliane.it/en/press-releases/posteitalianecompl-1476569300901.html
  9. emarketstorage.it/sites/default/files/comunicati/2026-06/20260619_185988.pdf
  10. finanzadigitale.com/news/postepay-bancoposta/
  11. mondomobileweb.it/324095-postepay-fusione-con-bancoposta-poste-approva-definitivamente-la-scissione-parzial
  12. tabaccai.it/index.php/federazione/notizie-mainmenu-2/3250-lis-e-cartalis-cambiano-denominazione

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under article 114-quater of the Consolidated Banking Act. It is entered as no. 1 in the register of e-money institutions. It provides payment services at retailers under contracts with the firm and notifies these retailers to the Organismo Agenti e Mediatori (OAM).

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Bank of Italy (Banca d'Italia) Italy Istituto di Moneta Elettronica (Albo degli Istituti di Moneta Elettronica, art. 114-quater TUB) 1 In its own name Active puntolis.it ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated lispaypos.it ↗
Mastercard Access not stated lispaypos.it ↗
PagoBancomat Access not stated lispaypos.it ↗
UnionPay Access not stated lispaypos.it ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated rivenditori.puntolis.it ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated rivenditori.puntolis.it ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Bill payments
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Domestic payments
  • Prepaid cards

At PuntoLis retailers it collects utility bills, postal and MAV payment slips, pagoPA notices, car tax and fines. It also executes SEPA credit transfers and instant transfers to Italian IBANs, provides cash withdrawals for partner payment service providers and offers card acquiring and POS terminals to merchants.

It serves customers in Italy through a network of affiliated retailers and merchants.

Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in
Italy

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    Poste Italiane and PostePay shareholders approved a PostePay partial demerger that transfers the LIS Pay holding to Poste Italiane from 1 January 2027.

    mondomobileweb.it ↗
  2. Other

    The Bank of Italy authorised the partial demerger of PostePay, whose transferred assets include the LIS Pay holding.

    finanzadigitale.com ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    The boards of Poste Italiane and PostePay approved a demerger project covering PostePay's e-money assets and holdings, including LIS Pay.

    emarketstorage.it ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
CIMTITR1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. CIMTBank
  2. ITCountry · Italy
  3. R1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
81560066AB50EC35AB11
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
08658331007
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
a57c6e6f80d4

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Italy
Country · region
Italy · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

The Poste Italiane - Societa' Per Azioni group has 6 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: all hold a BIC.

Including Postepay S.P.A., Bancoposta Fondi Sgr, Net Insurance SPA, Poste Italiane SPA, Sourcesense S.P.A..

See the Poste Italiane - Societa' Per Azioni group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
VIA ROBERTO BRACCO 6 MILANO 20159 ITALY
Operational address
VIA ROBERTO BRACCO 6 MILANO 20159 MILANO ITALY

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CIMTITR1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>81560066AB50EC35AB11</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CIMTITR1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>81560066AB50EC35AB11</LEI>
  <Nm>LIS PAY S.P.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>MILANO</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>VIA ROBERTO BRACCO 6 MILANO 20159</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2013-10-07 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2024-04-12 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages 2020-05-05 Head office —
SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages 2020-05-05 Head office —
Verification of Payee 2025-10-05 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

Claim this profile

Work at Lis Pay S.P.A.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: puntolis.it (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo