Germany · Payments & e-money

Ratepay GmbH

Ratepay GmbH is a limited liability company based in Berlin. The Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) supervises and authorises it as a payment institution under the German Payment Services Supervision Act (ZAG). It belongs to the Nexi Group through its direct parent Nexi Germany Holding GmbH, and Nexi S.p.A. is the ultimate parent. It provides white-label buy-now-pay-later payment methods to online merchants and marketplaces. These are purchase on invoice, SEPA direct debit, instalments and prepayment, and merchants assign the purchase receivables to Ratepay.

Licences and registrations

Held by Ratepay GmbH (LEI 391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterFederal Financial Supervisory Authority Payment institutionPayment Institution 136305 Germany Active 2018-06-20 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

200

headcount · This entity · 8 Dec 2025 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Nexi Germany Holding GmbH

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Ratepay

Ownership
Nexi S.p.A. controls the firm through Nexi Germany Holding GmbH, its direct parent according to the firm's LEI record.
Direct parent
Nexi Germany Holding GmbH ↗, Germany
Ultimate owner
Nexi S.p.A., Italy
Head office
Ritterstr. 12-14, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Company register
Amtsgericht Charlottenburg (Berlin) HRB 124156 B
Founders
Miriam Wohlfarth · Alexis Giesen · Michael Röbbecke

Online

Websites & references
ratepay.com ↗
docs.ratepay.com ↗ developer documentation
career.ratepay.com ↗ careers site
Wikipedia ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Instagram ↗ · Xing ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. ratepay.com/impressum
  2. ratepay.com/legal-payment-partners
  3. ratepay.com/legal-payment-terms
  4. ratepay.com/ueber-uns
  5. ratepay.com/legal
  6. bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_2025_03_0
  7. bundesjustizamt.de/DE/Themen/Verbraucherrechte/VerbandsklageregisterMusterfeststellungsklagenregister/Verban
  8. ratepay.com/en/press-release/ratepay-unicredit-securitization/
  9. boersen-zeitung.de/banken-finanzen/ratepay-verbleibt-im-ueppigen-deutschland-portfolio-von-nexi
  10. de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ratepay

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

BaFin authorises the firm as a payment institution under the German Payment Services Supervision Act (ZAG). The EBA register lists money remittance and card acquiring among its authorised services.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) Germany Payment institution (Zahlungsinstitut) under the ZAG 136305 In its own name Active ratepay.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm does not state on its website how it safeguards payment funds.
Acquirer / processor
Hanseatic Bank GmbH & Co KG Germany ratepay.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated ratepay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Buy now, pay later
  • Payment gateway

It offers merchants purchase on invoice, SEPA direct debit, pay-in-3 instalments, prepayment and a hosted payment page, all under the merchant's own brand.

According to its website, it serves online merchants in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands.

Sells to
Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 4 countries
Germany · Austria · Switzerland · Netherlands

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Sabrina Flunkert-Glinzer CEO and Managing Director (Geschäftsführerin) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ratepay.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Denny Axt Managing Director (Geschäftsführer Marktfolge), responsible for compliance, anti-money laundering and risk management Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ratepay.com ↗
Executive
Sidharth Chugh CTO and Managing Director (Geschäftsführer) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ratepay.com ↗
Executive
Carlos Sanchez Chief Product Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ratepay.com ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    In a consumer association lawsuit, the Kammergericht barred the firm from charging German consumers flat reminder fees without agreement, and the ruling became final.

    bundesjustizamt.de ↗
  2. Other

    The firm and UniCredit closed a EUR 125 million securitisation of German and Austrian buy-now-pay-later receivables.

    ratepay.com ↗
  3. Enforcement

    BaFin fined the firm EUR 25,000 because it lacked adequate data-processing systems to ensure compliance with the Money Laundering Act.

    bafin.de ↗
  4. Leadership

    The firm appointed CFO Sabrina Flunkert as CEO in succession to Nina Pütz, and Nexi dropped its plans to sell the firm.

    boersen-zeitung.de ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
136305
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
05d9d495aa53

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Germany · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2018-06-20

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Nexi Germany Holding GmbH · Germany391200NFLZ9YIHHRUL82 ↗
Ultimate parent
Nexi SPA · Italy5493000P70CQRQG8SN85 ↗

The Nexi SPA group has 9 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 2 hold a BIC and 7 do not.

Including Paytrail Oyj, NETS Denmark A/S, Nexi Croatia d.o.o., Nexi Germany GmbH, Nexi Payments S.P.A..

See the Nexi SPA group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Ritterstraße 12 - 14 | 10969 Berlin, Berlin, 10969
Country
Germany

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77</LEI>
  <Nm>Ratepay GmbH</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>10969</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Berlin</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>DE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Ritterstraße 12 - 14 | 10969 Berlin</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.
  • CBPR+ does not accept the character ß in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo