Italy · Payments & e-money

Nexi Payments S.P.A.

Nexi Payments S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company based in Milan. The Bank of Italy authorises it as an electronic money institution, entered in the Albo IMEL under number 32875.7. It has a single shareholder, Nexi S.p.A., which directs and coordinates it. It offers card acceptance through POS terminals and e-commerce gateways to merchants and public bodies. It also issues and manages payment cards, largely through partner banks in Italy. Formerly CartaSi, it took the Nexi Payments name in 2017.

BICNEPYITM1XXX LEI815600DCF6BC04F21767 Licence no.04107060966 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of NEPYITM1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Group: Nexi SPA Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Nexi Payments S.P.A. (LEI 815600DCF6BC04F21767). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of ItalyLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 04107060966 Italy Active 2018-01-14 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ECB · monetary financial institutions

List as at 2026-09-25

Category
Other monetary financial institution
Minimum reserves
Not on the ECB reserve list
Listed as
NEXI PAYMENTS S.P.A.
RIAD code
IT0002082752550

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
NEPYITM1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of NEPYITM1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2018-04-07
Last updated
2022-07-11

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Nexi S.p.A.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Nexi

Ownership
Nexi S.p.A., listed on Euronext Milan, is the sole shareholder of the firm and directs and coordinates it.
Direct parent
Nexi S.p.A., Italy 100%
Head office
Corso Sempione 55, 20149 Milano, Italy
Company register
Registro Imprese Milano Monza Brianza Lodi / Codice Fiscale 04107060966 (REA Milano 1725898)
Former name
CartaSi S.p.A.

Online

Websites & references
nexi.it ↗
ecommerce.nexi.it ↗ developer documentation for the XPay e-commerce gateway
nexigroup.com ↗ group corporate and investor site (Nexi S.p.A.)
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
  1. nexi.it/it/normative/dati-societari
  2. nexi.it/it/governance
  3. nexi.it/it/normative/note-legali
  4. nexi.it/content/dam/nexinew/download/brand/Statuto_Nexi-Payments_2026.pdf
  5. nexi.it/it/carte-di-pagamento/nexi-pay
  6. intesasanpaolo.com/content/dam/vetrina/trasparenza/it/Documenti/Doc/Pdf/FI/FI-Other/FI-1503.pdf
  7. bccfelsinea.it/umbraco/surface/transparency/ShowFile/49636
  8. nexi.it/content/dam/nexi/download/trasparenza/esercenti/ab-esercenti-nexi-unico-licensing-fi-pago
  9. nexigroup.com/content/dam/corp/downloads/group/governance/governance-system/231/modello231_NEXI-PAYMENT
  10. nexigroup.com/content/dam/corp/downloads/investors/financial-statements/2025/IT-fascicolo1H25.pdf
  11. teleborsa.it/News/2026/03/26/nexi-bernardo-mingrone-nuovo-ceo-paolo-bertoluzzo-lascia-dopo-10-anni-11.
  12. bancaforte.it/articolo/nexi-svolta-al-vertice-mingrone-nuovo-ceo-RB103819r
  13. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nexi

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under article 114-quater of Legislative Decree 385/1993 (Albo IMEL no. 32875.7). Partner banks such as Intesa Sanpaolo sign merchant acquiring contracts in the name and on behalf of the firm.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Bank of Italy Italy Istituto di moneta elettronica (Albo IMEL, art. 114-quater D.Lgs. 385/1993) 32875.7 In its own name Active nexi.it ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated bccfelsinea.it ↗
Mastercard Access not stated bccfelsinea.it ↗
PagoBANCOMAT / BANCOMAT Pay Access not stated nexi.it ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • Debit cards
  • Prepaid cards
  • Lending
  • Bill payments
  • Mobile top-up

It provides POS and e-commerce card acceptance (SmartPOS, XPay) to Italian merchants and public bodies, and credit, debit and prepaid cards managed through the Nexi Pay app, largely distributed through partner banks.

Its published offer, contracts and transparency documents address customers in Italy.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Public sector · Consumers · Financial institutions
Serves customers in
Italy

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Bernardo Mingrone Amministratore Delegato (Chief Executive Officer) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nexi.it ↗
Chair
Marcello Sala Presidente (Chair of the Board of Directors) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nexi.it ↗
Executive
Monica Coppo Vice Presidente (Deputy Chair) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nexi.it ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    The board of Nexi S.p.A. appointed Bernardo Mingrone, CEO of Nexi Payments, as Group CEO and General Manager, succeeding Paolo Bertoluzzo.

    teleborsa.it ↗
  2. Leadership

    A new board of directors took office on 30 April 2025, chaired by Marcello Sala, with a mandate running to approval of the 2027 accounts.

    nexi.it ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    The firm completed the sale of part of its Capital Markets business to Base Digitale (Sesa group) on 28 February 2025.

    nexigroup.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
NEPYITM1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. NEPYBank
  2. ITCountry · Italy
  3. M1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
815600DCF6BC04F21767
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
04107060966
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
e781cbf052bb

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Italy
Country · region
Italy · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Nexi SPA · Italy5493000P70CQRQG8SN85 ↗

The Nexi SPA group has 9 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 2 hold a BIC and 7 do not.

Including Paytrail Oyj, NETS Denmark A/S, Nexi Croatia d.o.o., Nexi Germany GmbH, Paypro S.A..

See the Nexi SPA group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
CORSO SEMPIONE 55 MILANO 20149 ITALY
Operational address
CORSO SEMPIONE 55 MILANO 20149 MILANO ITALY

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>NEPYITM1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>815600DCF6BC04F21767</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>NEPYITM1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>815600DCF6BC04F21767</LEI>
  <Nm>NEXI PAYMENTS S.P.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>MILANO</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>CORSO SEMPIONE 55 MILANO 20149</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Nexi Payments S.P.A.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: nexi.it (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo